American Made Brand Tiny Quilt Challenge

Did anyone else participate in the American Made Brand Tiny Quilt Challenge???


At first I wasn’t going to participate. You saw my fourth quarter goals right???? I have enough on my plate already! But… I love supporting local, so I’ve always loved Clothworks, the brand behind the American Made Brand. And who can’t love American Made fabric? One of the owners came to our guild and showed us the step by step process in making this brand and it’s quite amazing! And frustrating to see how much of our natural resources get exported for us to then buy back! But that’s a whole ‘nother blog post!


And at our Pacific Northwest Modern Quilt Guild meetup, there was this adorable little mini charm pack in our swag bags. So I had to go for it! I had a different idea to start, more of a spiral, but it didn’t turn out…. So this is what I ended up with. Not truly original, and that probably has one thing to do with why it didn’t win anything….


I still didn’t have my own machine back yet and was using a machine that wasn’t real into the curved quilting. So it didn’t end up great there either… But I love the pattern! I wanted to contrast the squares and triangles with circles.


The back is pretty simple and used a couple of extra half square triangles! And I also won a giveaway of American Brand green solids that I put to use on the back.


Don’t look too closely, this one is not my usual quality of piecing or quilting, but…. I don’t have much wall space for mini quilts, so I like to use them for other things. I made this with two layers of batting to use for a hot pad. Even if I didn’t win, it was a fun little project!


  1. I think it’s really fun!

  2. I entered too, but my quilt was not accepted into the show. I plan to blog about it soon.

  3. It’s such a fun and bright little quilt! I also participated and I had fun playing with those colors even if solids are not my favorite! Your piece is fresh and modern, love it!!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

