Pinterest Try Tuesday (kinda) Bobble Head Ghosts

So this is kinda a pinterest try, but it’s an old fashioned kinda pinterest! I saw this in a magazine and tore out the page months ago… Remember doing that way back before Pinterest??? And I’ve held on to this project from the Family Fun Magazine since I think this past Easter!


But as you can see, it’s not an Easter project! I took their Easter project and turned it into a Halloween project!


The original project was for bobble head chicks. But, nope, not chicks here! Cute little ghosts in our house!


Using the directions they had in the magazine, you just need sculpey,  some wire and glass beads. I used the sculpey and the wire, but I added a few extra materials. I also included a meat thermometer and glass top quilting pins!


Why a meat thermometer you ask? To wind the wire around, of course! A pencil was too thick, so I went looking for something else and the meat thermometer was the perfect diameter!  First off you shape your head and body of the ghosts. Then wind your wire. I used about 2 inches of wire. You’ll want to keep the ends straight to push into the head and body. Then put the three pieces together, the head, the wire and the body. I also used the thermometer to shape the bottom.


On this little guy I used some quilting pins with glass heads for the eyes and mouths. I cut the pins short and stuck them in!


The wire needs to be heavy enough to hold up the head, but thin enough to wobble! In this picture I’m trying to show you that his head actually bobbles! Not an easy thing to take a picture of!


Ok, so my first try wasn’t exactly a fail, but it wasn’t a real win either! I tried to make them with soft clay and perler beads…. I couldn’t get a smooth finish with the soft clay. I could make it larger, but not smooth… I also used pretty thick wire and didn’t get the bobble action. Then I started to make the eyes in the sculpey with the perler beads but realized they’d melt! That would have been bad!


I’m pretty happy with them! I didn’t actually make these with the kiddo, but he was pretty excited about them after he saw them. So now I’m out to get more sculpey!


  1. angelgal3176 says:

    Adorable. I want to try these! Maybe not for Halloween, but for something🙂

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

