Handmade Halloween

Yes, Halloween has come and gone, but I wanted to share the costumes we had this year!


The ‘real’ costume was Ash, the Pokemon trainer, and his Pokemon, Pikachu! We went back and forth and back and forth between costumes. FIrst it was Ash, then Shaggy from Scooby Doo, then another Pokemon character, and back around to Ash!


Do you know Ash? Well, this is what he looks like as a cartoon….


And this is my real life version! As we were trick or treating, kids kept saying Hello to Ash! Then Dad and I were waiting on the kiddo to trick or treat and these older kids came by talking about the kiddos costume. One kid was telling the other kid about how he’d seen the kid in the Ash costume and,

‘It’s so LEGIT, man’

Talk about making a Momma proud! Oh, yeah! The kiddo came back and I told him about the huge compliment he got and he said, ‘What’s that mean?’ Ha! It means you have a really cool Momma that makes you really cool costumes! hehehe!!!


This costume was a mish mash of handmade and not. The coat, totally all handmade. I used the Kitschy Coo Reversible Zippy Hoodie Pattern for the jacket. I got the hat online and painted on the symbol with fabric paint. I was planning on making the pants, but when I found then for ten bucks at Target, I just bought them…. The gloves are half and half! I tried to make my own, but then found some just the right color. I cut them down and added on the red cuffs.


And Pikachu! I made Pikachu! I made a neighbor one a while back using the Ikat Bag’s Menagerie Pattern with a few alternations. And now the kiddo gets his own!


And remember I mentioned Shaggy? Well, the Friday before Halloween school had a Dress Like Your Favorite Book Character Day. Max choose Shaggy from Scooby Doo! Yes, they are books now. He’s become obsessed with those meddling kids in both book and video form!  And yes, that’s Scooby dressed as a wolf for Halloween! hehehe!


Originally, I was just going to whip up a tshirt for him. Then I headed into Old Navy I just happened to find one last green short sleeved shirt with a V-neck, in his size, for $1.50! Um, can’t pass that up! I very liberally used See Kate Sew’s Surfer Slacks for the bell bottoms. I started at one size of the pattern at hte waist, then just drew the pants out at the knee for the bell bottoms. I should have exaggerated even more….


You aren’t Shaggy without the silly whiskers! And I found the Scooby Snacks at Target!


We had a fun Halloween! The kiddo said it was his best one yet! Awesome! I told him that I hope that when he grows up that he has fond memories of Halloween and being involved with all his custom made Halloween costumes. And I told him, if he has a wife that doesn’t sew, that means he has to make his kids costumes! I hope so!



  1. Sarah Helene says:

    FABulous Halloween costumes for your 2 young sons! Love the photo shoot: Ash & PIKACHU for your older son plus for your younger son, Shabby from “Scooby Doo” — love them both! BRAVO to MOM, the talented sewist! Good one . . . telling them when they are older and married, if their wife doesn’t sew, then they MUST sew costumes for their kids! THANKS for sharing. Sarah in Minneapolis

  2. That is “so legit”, I agree! Cool!

  3. Very very fun! I made all my kids costumes too! We had so much fun with them!

  4. I loved the costume of Ash Ketchum! You did a warmer fabric, right?It looks pretty fuzzy and warm!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

