Holiday Swap Sewing

I feel like I haven’t blogged in ages! I’ve been sewing and decorating for the holidays, but then we went to Disneyland and I between all that, I got behind!


Last weekend we had our Seattle Modern Quilt Guild holiday party with a gift exchange. I am so in love with the Mini Tree pattern by Sew Kind of Wonderful, that I had to make it!


The front and back are both done almost all in Cotton and Steel Fabrics. I’m kinda in love with this line right about now. I’ve never been a ‘line’ follower…. Until now! I think the front fabrics are just perfect for a snowy winter tree scene. And then I just loved how these back fabrics pulled in the colors of the front with a play on the idea of the tree, etc…. My envelope back ended up opening the wrong way, but I think it still works!


Do you have a quick curve ruler? I’m also not one to buy too many specific rulers, but I’m kinda taken by the quick curve ruler. It’s pretty fun. Easy to use and makes curves super easy! I recently took a class to learn a pattern using this ruler and she had a preview of the trees…. So then I had to get the mini version too. It’s on Amazon with prime shipping, so there’s still time to make this for Christmas presents! And the pattern is a free pattern! Perfect!


The pattern goes together really quickly! I did the whole pillow in one evening and it’s a big one. My pillow is for a 24×24 pillow form. Now, if you decided to quilt it with about 1/2″ lines, plan on it taking you a bit longer…. I’ve also become a new fan of my walking foot, but more on that later!


When you cut it you have an equal amount of opposite leftovers! So I need to through myself a little pillow together with green trees in a white snowstorm! Oh, yes!


And this is the pillow I got! Not everyone made pillows, but I gave and received one!

When playing the game you aren’t’ supposed to know who the gifts are from. But when we all gathered our gifts to meet over by the exchange, I saw my friend Debbie grab hers. I made a mental note to pick her present becuase everything she does is faboulous! But then when it was my turn to pick, I was so intrigued by this blue and red bag (favorite christmas colors) that I totally forgot to stick to my plan!! Luckily, what was inside was the same colors too!


Mine was made by abazeley who makes a lot of fun things! I think it’s such a fun pillow and goes perfectly with our decorations! Thank you!!!



  1. Love the pillow you made and can’t wait to see its opposite!

  2. Woo Woo – Disney World what fun! Welcome back and for another terrific year!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

