A Christmas Cross Stitch Pillow!

Well, one of my New Years Resolutions was to get back into blogging and post more than once a week! Not doing so well on that resolution, but still trying…. Anyway…. I seem to be loving pillows right now! So I thought I’d show you one more that I made.


I’m soooo loving cross stitch right now! I did it as a kid, but I’m loving that it’s making a comeback and making a comeback with modern designs. It does take me forever, but I love it.


And so what do I do with it? I piece and quilt it, of course!


The first cross stitch project I did when I picked it back up used the traditional Aida fabric. It’s super easy to use, but who wants to cuddle up with it? Not me. So I knew I had to find a different way…. I picked up this Pellon Sticky Grid and Tear. It works great!


I layer a piece of quilting cotton with a piece of muslin or another layer of quilting cotton and cut the grid paper to fit inside my hoop. The instructions say not to leave it on the fabric for very long. I just look loosely attached it and it stayed on for months! It didn’t leave a residue or anything.

And don’t look at my back stitching! I just do it! I didn’t even know that there are particular ways you are supposed to cross stitch that makes the backs look pretty too… I’ll try that next time…



My lines aren’t quite as straight as they could be with Aida fabric, but once you see it as an overall design, I think it looks quite nice.


I pulled fabric from the colors in the pattern and did a little HST border. I wasn’t sure about the polka dot yellow for a while. I feel much better about it now, though. I gave it to my step-Mom for Christmas and didn’t realize her bedding is yellow! Perfect fit!


The pattern is by Tiny Boxes Design and is a downloadable pattern. She has a couple of other patterns, I’d like to make, too! The pattern actually says ‘go Yell it…’, but I made it the real words of the song and changed ‘Yell’ to ‘Tell’. And I added the star on top with variegated yellow thread. It took me forever to figure out how I wanted to do the star!


I’ve got some more cross stitch projects in the works! Do you do cross stitch? I’m loving it, but it’s putting my double sided hexagon quilt on the back burner! oops….


  1. I also love to cross stitch but haven’t down much of it lately. I love the pillow you made!

  2. That is so lovely! Lately I have been attempting cross stich.nIt takes practice but can be very rewarding.

  3. This turned out really nice!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

