The Making of a Nursery- Part 2 A Rag Quilt Tutorial

Welcome to Part 2 of my 3 part mini-series!


Today it’s the Rag Quilt! And how I made it! These things are super simple. Before this one I had never made one, so when tasked with making one I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. This was probably the easiest project for the whole nursery!


And I love the fabrics and colors (enough those these things weren’t totally picked by me… Actually I had nothing to do with the color, but I did get to choose some of the fabrics!). And it’s so soft!


Here’s how I made it! First to cut the squares. I made squares 7″. So the top cottons (and a little fleece) and the back minki fabrics were cut to be 7″ squares. But I cut the batting to be 6″ squares.


Then stack the three pieces. Minki on the bottom, batting in the middle and cotton on the top. Wrong sides together!



Chain piece all the quilt sandwiches! Quilt the pieces from corner to corner and corner to corner. You’ll end up with a big X  across each piece.


Then start sewing blocks together to make rows and rows! But use a half inch seam allowance rather than the 1/2″ seam allowance, quilts usually use.


Then sew the rows together. I pinned my rows, so that I was sure the the seams would match up.


And your left with this….


But you still want to trim all those seam allowances! This part took longer than any of the other steps….



And this is what you get! Nice and cuddly!!!


I kinda want one for me…. Have you ever made a rag quilt? Did you know they were this easy? I think picking the fabric and laying out the blocks and trimming the ‘fringe’ took longer than actually making the quilt! Let me know if you try it!





  1. kislanykim says:

    I love this combination of colors, and that quilt looks so soft and cuddly!!!

  2. That is a lovely quilt! I’ve been wanting to make one of those for a while. Quick question: do you know how much batting you used? Was it packaged or by the yard?

  3. I’d never ‘seen’ one made, so thank you!

  4. I’ve not made one, but I’m very tempted to now! Thank you for the tutorial. Yours looks great.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

