Sweet Dreams, a Paper Cut Art Piece

I haven’t done a paper cut in a long time…


Then a friend of mine has a gallery with a little mini gallery and she asked me to do another piece! And when I say mini, I’m not kidding! The mini gallery is about 14 inches by 14 inches by 9 inches. I thought about doing a mini quilt, but she loves the paper cuts I do and convinced me it was time for another one! I’ve done a Halloween one and a Christmas one….


LIke I said, I really thought about doing a mini quilt. Then I thought about a papercut quilt pattern with a quilt behind… Then it turned it to a quilt on a bed. A quilt on a bed covering a kiddo. A quilt on a bed covering a sleeping, dreaming kiddo!


The bed on the quilt was for sure the inspiration for the whole piece! I had the kiddo pretend to be asleep under a quilt and took pictures. Then I cut from the picture. And from there came the dreams….


The bottom half has the monsters under the bed, the kraken and the gnome!


The kraken is a mythological sea creature that looks somewhat like an octopus! Sometimes the drawing are a bit scarier than others. This is a sweet one!


I love the monsters under the bed! The piece is called sweet dreams, so these guys must be sweet! As is the kinda creepy gnome, keeping watch.


The upper half is full of other fun creatures too! Including the Man in the Moon, a Yeti (I love Yeti’s) and a Loch Ness SuperHero!


I love yetis! With the help of my husband I love how the water from the background spills out under the bed. I love the detail in the quilt. But I really think my favorite piece, is the simple round Man in the Moon!

I do love all the little fish too! But I think the fishing Yeti, might be going home hungry!


The piece was for sale, but didn’t sell. And as much art as we have at our house, the last thing I need is another piece. But I have to say, I was very excited to go pick it up and bring it home from the show!!!!

I’d love to hear what your favorite piece is!!! Hope you like it!


  1. This is precious! And beautifully done. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. I know these are time-intensive, but I think you should consider pursuing them…maybe custom orders, where a sale would be guaranteed in advance? These are works of art.

  2. wow. I’m really impressed! This is so fun – and the others too. Loved hearing how you make them!

  3. This is so amazing! I love all the little details. Gorgeous!!

  4. Lauren aka giddy99 says:

    That paper piece is STUNNING. I am enthralled with the details and how very clever it is. FABULOUS work.

  5. amazing! it is beautiful! i need it in my life!

  6. Karen Mullins says:

    This is incredible!!! KK

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

