A Weekend of Quilting Classes

This past weekend I took two classes and went to a lecture by Libs Elliot!


The first class I took was her Weight of Love quilt class. The quilt is really cool. Honestly, I was hoping to learn more in the class than I did… But none the less, I had a great day hanging out with friends and sewing.

I love a pattern with a nice coloring page. This pattern is only available when you take her class. But you can see the quilt here.


The pattern is numbered based on 17 fabrics. But I narrowed it down to 5 fabrics. Black, white and light grey. The my colors are a reddish coral and deep purple. Not two colors I have ever put together. They were actually two fabrics that had been sitting on my shelf not getting used. I just happened to pull them out and realized they look fabulous together! I love them!


I also got to learn how to use the Hex ‘n More ruler. I love it! I’ve been wanting it for a couple of years, but never actually got it until it was required for this class. So glad I have it now!


Between the class and a little extra sewing that night, I have it half way finished! Now just to keep sewing…


The second class I took was her Embrace the Chaos class. with another coloring page! But this time, we made up the pattern in class. Each person designed their own quilt. We picked a certain number of blocks and then played a version of quilt bingo to layout the patterns!


I used another pallette of 5 colors, dark and light grey, dark and light teal and red. Oh, and white. So 6 colors!

Each block is different. There’s no chain piecing going on with this one! But I’m half way through making my blocks for this one.

Can’t wait to show you the final pieces!



  1. It’s brilliant;)

  2. aquilterstable says:

    Very cool – can’t wait to see more!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

