Modern Sampler Quilt Along

I’ve been preoccupied with the kiddos school! I’ve somehow worked myself into updating the school website, resurrecting our school newsletter, starting a PTSA email group and making a PTSA webpage! Wow! Not sure what I was thinking really… But way before I signed up for all this, I joined the Modern Sampler Quilt Along with Salty Oat!

Quilt Along Image

The quilt is actually a design by Yoshiko Jinzenji, a Japanese quilter. I love the pops of color in the quilt, which is why I decided to take the plunge and go for it!

ModernSampler-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

Does this look like me? It’s a bit more low volume than I am used too! But it’s been fun making all the blocks challenging myself to stay away from the solid brights!

ModernSampler-BlkA-ImFeelinCrafty

The first block was Block A. Makes sense, huh! I think this might be my favorite one!

ModernSampler-BlkB-ImFeelinCrafty

Block B. I set this up a paper pieced block. I’m not sure about this one. That center color seems a bit much…

ModernSampler-BlkC-ImFeelinCrafty

Block C was actually like a tea cup and saucer. Or a coffee cup… I don’t like tea or coffee, so I didn’t want a tea or coffee cup in my quilt. I took off the handle hoping the shapes would read just as shapes. I think it worked!

ModernSampler-BlkD-ImFeelinCrafty

Block D. Another one I turned into a paper pieced block so I didn’t have to measure anything!

ModernSampler-BlkE-ImFeelinCrafty

And Block E. I like it! I’m two blocks behind…. So I need to catch up and make 2 more blocks to be caught up.

ModernSampler-CornerNo-ImFeelinCrafty

One thing I didn’t realize about this quilt is that each block is made of blocks with mitered corners borders… It’s good practice…. not that I was really wanting to practice Y seams. But I’m doing it. And sometimes I get corners like the one above. Just not quite right…

ModernSampler-CornerYes-ImFeelinCrafty

And other times they are right one and I do a little happy dance!

ModernSampler-Together-ImFeelinCrafty

Here they are all laid out…

ModernSampler-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

What do you think? Are you making it? Want to join in and get caught up??? Go for it!

Comments

  1. aquilterstable says:

    Nice! I like your pops of color! And my favorite block is E!

  2. Your blocks look great! I’d love to join the sew along but I have too many UFO’s. There’s so many great quilt alongs on at the moment and not enough time.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

