April do Good Stitches Block

This month is my month to pick the quilt for our Nurture Circle of do.Good Stitches. The last one I did was the inside out pineapple block. It was fantastic! But it was time consuming… And since yesterday was April Fools Day, I pulled a little prank on my group and told them I had decided to do that quilt again! I thought it was too funny!

AprilDoGood-BlocksMain-ImFeelinCrafty

But we’re not doing that one! We’re doing a way easier one! This striped block. It has no name. I came up with it. And when we’re done with it, I’ll tell you more about my inspiration. You’ll have to let me know if you see a resemblance to my inspiration!

AprilDoGood-Fabric-ImFeelinCrafty

We’re going to be doing two blocks. A cool, blue one and a warm, red/orange/yellow one. Here’s a hint of my inspiration…Beach! I don’t have a particular length in mind, but I’d like them to be a minimum of 21″ long. I’d love some of them to be longer!

AprilDoGood-Reds-ImFeelinCrafty

AprilDoGood-RedFabric-ImFeelinCrafty

For the red, yellow and orange one, we’re looking at the sunset. Please use all solids if possible. If you can’t use solids, please use a print that reads as a solid. With white as the neutral. I always stick with Kona White.

AprilDoGood-RedDimensions-ImFeelinCrafty

For the warm block, you’ll need:

(4) 1″ strips of White

(3) 1″ strips of a dark red, red, orange or yellow

(1) 1.5″ strip of a dark red, red, orange or yellow

Please follow the design above for stacking the strips. The shaded area represents the dark red, red, orange or yellow strips.

AprilDoGood-Blocks-ImFeelinCrafty

AprilDoGood-Blues-ImFeelinCrafty

AprilDoGood-BlueFabric-ImFeelinCrafty

And for the cool one, let’s go back to the nice blue beach on a sunny day! We’re looking for blues from the teal end to blue, based on the blues shown above. Please use all solids if possible. If you can’t use solids, please use a print that reads as a solid. With white as the neutral. I always stick with Kona White.

AprilDoGood-BlueDimensions-ImFeelinCrafty

For the cool block, you’ll need:

(3) 1″ strips of White

(1) 2″ strip of a teal to blue as shown above

(1) 1.5″ strip of a teal to blue as shown above

(1) 1″ strip of a teal to blue as shown above

Please follow the design above for stacking the strips. The shaded area represents the teal to blue as shown above.

AprilDoGood-BlocksLast-ImFeelinCrafty

Please keep your seam allowance at 1/4″ and iron the seam allowances toward the colored fabrics. And you’ll end up with skinny long blocks like these!

Thanks!!!

 

Comments

  1. your sewn strips remind me of beach towels…can’t wait to see how you put it all together 🙂

  2. I think its hilarious that you pranked your bee members like that 🙂 what fun!
    I’m very curious to see what you are creating this time around…

Trackbacks

  1. […] the blocks back in April for the do.Good Stitches Nurture Circle to make. You can see the tutorial here. And honestly, I didn’t know what I was going to do with the blocks when I got them back! I […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

