April Squiggles bring May….

This month’s BOM for the Seattle Modern Quilt Guild BOM quilt is squiggles!


I was terrified of squiggles! I’ve seen them around, but have never understood how to make them. I assumed a bunch of clipping curves, etc…. But no! It’s way easier than I thought it was going to be!


I used this great tutorial on Lily’s Quilts by Ann of Play Crafts! It is so easy! You basically put two pieces of fabric on top of each other, cut a sqiggly line and then sew it together and iron flat! Seriously. Not sure what I was afraid of!


Squiggles! And again, like in the last two blocks, I overlapped the months blocks on each other.


But then it started bugging me that it wouldn’t lay flat… and I was wondering it that was going to affect the adding on of each months blocks.


No matter how often I iron these seams flat, they always go back to looking like this…. Not flat…


So I started quilting….


And the seams lay flat and there hardly any added bulk at the seams once it gets quilted!


You can kinda see the difference between the nice flat quilted area and the not quilted areas. I also realized I wanted to not do too much quilting on the outside pieces. I want to wait to do those until the next piece is sewn on. You want to sew OVER the seam allowance, so I didn’t want to do much sewing around the perimeter until I add on to it.


I need to square it up a bit. And do a bit more quilting before the next block gets added in. But I can’t wait to see which one is next!



  1. I first saw a squiggly lines tutorial from Rob at Man Sewing and thought the sane thing – so much easier than I imagined!

  2. aquilterstable says:

    This is looking SO good! I love the quilting that you’ve done already!!

  3. Lynne Tilley says:

    Now this looks like fun. As if you can sit down and work without any “precision” in mind as we normally do. I’m going to have to try this!

  4. Diana Northrop says:

    Simply fabulous, I love the colors! I am currently on a yellow craze and this didn’t just speak to me but screamed my name. I have to try this.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

