Modern Sampler Quilt Along Blocks G, H and I

Man! I’ve been playing catch up on this quilt along, the Modern Sampler Quilt Along with Salty Oat!

ModernSampler-MainBlocksGHI-ImFeelinCrafty

You know I’m more of a bright color kinda quilter, so this one has been a challenge. But I like the low contrast with a pop of color! But this is a very challenging pattern and I got really frustrated doing these blocks! I think they came out quite nice despite the lack of instructions!

ModernSampler-Block-I-ImFeelinCrafty

This is Block G. I didn’t do any measuring around the curves. And I like how they turned out. Not perfect, but I think they are pretty close to perfect.

ModernSampler-BlockH-ImFeelinCrafty

And Block H. This turned out pretty nice. A LOT of practice with Y seams for one stinkin’ 12″ block! Has anyone else made this one? I’m curious how you made it. I considered doing it as an english paper pieced block, like I sew hexagons by hand. But then decided that would take way longer than I wanted to spend on this one….

ModernSampler-BlockI-ImFeelinCrafty

And lastly, Block I. I’m actually in love with this one! It’s pretty near perfect! (If I do say so myself…) I took my friend Debbie’s advice and did the strips as paper pieced triangles. It worked! Nice and quick!

ModernSampler-Corner-ImFeelinCrafty

And look at those Y seam corners! Oh, yes!

ModernSampler-Whole-ImFeelinCrafty

Please ignore the horrible picture, but this is the quilt so far! I do like the quilt, but making it has had some frustrated moments!

ModernSampler-LastBlocksGHI-ImFeelinCrafty

Three more blocks down. Nine blocks done. Three to go!

Comments

  1. This is beautiful. So subtle and effective. And those y seamed mitred corners look difficult but very effective.

  2. aquilterstable says:

    I adore what you’re doing with these blocks!! Having some regrets myself but OH WELL.

  3. Rochelle Summers says:

    The challenge for me would be the low-volume prints…..no pop, except for that pink. I think this is looking great.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

