My New Thread Catcher

Honestly, I usually just throw my threads on the floor and then sweep it up when I’m done….


But the other day the kiddo and I went to the local paint your own pottery place, Emerald City Fired Arts, and I needed a project since he was making two….


So I decided to paint this bowl. At first I didn’t know what I was going to do with it. Then, as I was painting, I realized the shape was perfect for throwing in threads!


We’ve been going to this place for years! The kiddo LOVES it! We do have a growing collection… I used to help the kiddo here and there. But now, he doesn’t need any help. So I get to paint my own.



I tried to do a gradation by making the paint into a wash. It didn’t come out exactly like I planned, but it looks pretty cool. The inside is a really deep teal color. Unfortunately, the inside doesn’t show up well in the pictures….


Does it seem odd that I don’t have a sewn thread catcher? Does it seem risky to have a ceramic thread catcher? Mine sits just behind my machine, so I think I’m safe! Hope so!


  1. Lynne Tilley says:

    I love it! Great idea, and it’s beautiful!

  2. Michele T says:

    Love those beautiful colours!!!

  3. Great idea and very handy. It’s pretty too, You did a great on it.
    The animal pottery pieces are so cheerful and fun. Your kiddo is quite talented.

  4. Kathy h says:

    So pretty. I would take a chance on a ceramic one when I saw how beautiful it was. Such a great shape too.

  5. Such a beautiful thread catcher! I wish I had one:)!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

