SMQG BOM May Blocks

For this month I’ve been working on quilting my Seattle Modern Quilt Guild BOM a bit more, but I also added a new ‘row’


Excuse my photo editing… Something doesn’t look right, but oh well…

You can see the bottom row is this months project. The prompt was sewing with scraps. When I make a quilt, especially a BOM that lasts for a while, I keep a bag of all the scraps from that quilt. I don’t integrate my scraps with the scrap bins until the quilt is all done! So this was easy to do! I had the bag right there and ready to go!


These are my ‘two’ scrap blocks. I started with a long piece of batting that was close to the height I was looking for. But slightly larger. Then I just started a bit in the middle and kept using my scraps until I ran into where the pieces kinda quilt building on themselves. Then I started over. It’s very log cabin like….



You can see my ‘eyes’ are the center, where I started. Then I’d kinda log cabin around the center, then go off in one direction and come back and go somewhere else! I used only scraps for these, except I did have to cut a little extra white.

I do want to add another thinner strip of this block up the right side, but I ran out of scraps! So I need to do some other blocks and come back to add another row.


And I really started making some ‘rules’ for my quilting. Most of the quilting is in the white. Sometimes I’ll quilt in the yellow, but not often. And I am NOT quilting on the grey!

I’ve also found that I don’t want to quilt to the edge until I another block to sew on. I’m using my quilting to sew down my seam allowances, so therefore I need a seam allowance to quilt over!


And I’m stitching in the ditch to get from one stop to the other…. I’m loving this one! I just learned about June’s BOM, so I’m excited to get started on it!


  1. aquilterstable says:

    This is looking SO good, and I love your quilting rules!

  2. Rochelle Summers says:

    Keep talking about the quilt as you go process because I find it very informative. Will there be more quilting in the latest blocks you did with the scraps? Can’t wait to see more.

    • Thanks! I will. Yes! I’m waiting to quilt the ones I’ve done until I sew it together. I mentioned about waiting so that i can sew down the seam allowance. And I don’t want to sew this block on until I get the next one connected to it so that it fits the main piece that’s already quilted…

  3. This looks fantastic! I can’t wait to see it all completed:)


  1. […] doing this same technique with my SMQG BOM quilt. So this may look familiar to you… (Of course, I forgot to take a picture of the backside of […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

