June Blocks for Nurture Circle- Quilts for Fort McMurray

I haven’t posted about any of our do.Good quilts this year, but I’m skipping ahead to the June blocks!


For the June blocks we decided to switch from our regular charity to do the maple blocks that were called for for the Quilts for Fort McMurray. I know with all the devastation in Orlando, the deadline for the Fort McMurray deadline may be getting overlooked! (Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be making blocks for Orlando as soon as I get home from vacation!) But I’m hoping my posting will be a last minute reminder for everyone that wanted to make these blocks but haven’t yet! The deadline to mail is June 30th!


It’s funny (not in a haha kinda way) how fast our news moves from one situation to the next. Once the drama is gone, the news stories move to the next drama. Fort McMurray in Alberta Canada, was devastated by fires earlier this year. Whole neighborhoods burned to the ground. Whole towns evacuated. I know here in Washington there are worries about the wildfires starting early. I can’t imagine what the people of these towns have gone through. But the news has moved on… As a quilter, I want to be able to make a little difference to these people and let them know that just becuase the news has moved on, there are many people who still have the fire victims in their hearts.


The call for blocks from SloStudio lists a couple of different tutorials to make these blocks. I choose to use the tutorial from All Patched Up. It’s such a simple block! I think it took me about an hour to do both blocks, including picking fabric! I did a bit chain piecing that I think helped move it along faster!


Have you made these blocks? There’s still time to make them and get them in the mail! All the info, including where to mail the blocks to, is right here!


  1. The dead line must be June 30 or July first! Just a little typo..I do it all the time!
    Love the maple leaf.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

