Sewing with Leather

Last weekend I took a class to learn more about sewing with leather.


It was a lot of fun! I made two pouches, a keyring, learned new things and got to hang out with my SMQG friends! The Guild brought in Krista Fleckenstein to teach for two days and give a lecture. The classes and lecture all revolved around projects in her book, Beyond Cotton.


The first class was about printmaking, the lecture was about mixed media artists and the second class about sewing with leather. Both of which are talked about in her book. I debated which class to take becuase I wanted to do both. I had taken two classes from another guest teacher and wasn’t happy, so I was a little leary to take both. Now I’m kicking myself! The printing class turned out awesome work! ANYWAY…. The book is really good. I get kinda annoyed when teachers books are ‘required’ for the class, but this one is worth it. I got the book from the library to start, to see if I wanted to actually add it to my own stash of books. It is full of useful information, so I did purchase it!



We learned about the different kinds of leather, things to look for when purchasing leather and how to cut leather…


And then we were off to actually sew with leather! There are quite a few tricks of the trade that I didn’t know about! Different stitch lengths and sorts of things like that. It is hard to get remember to switch back and forth between the right stitch lengths for leather and fabric!


We ended up with 2 pouches each! I still need to add in my fancy labels, but otherwise they are ready to be stuffed with something!


The class ended up with such a great pile of pouches! I love some of the others fabric choices! And some even used fabric they had made in the class before!


Then we got to play around with veg-tan leather and make a key ring. No sewing involved on this one. The leather is way to thick. But there was a lot of pounding involved!


If Krista comes to your town, take both classes! That’s my advice! The only problem with this whole sewing with leather class is that now I want to go buy leather!!! There’s a cool leather shop here in Seattle almost in my neighborhood… This could be bad…. but in a good way…..




  1. aquilterstable says:

    Great post! I’m glad we took the leather class and I DO want to meet up sometime and check out that shop!

  2. Rochelle Summers says:

    So interesting. I’ve heard the same comments about having disappointing teachers and required books that don’t really offer much help. So glad this was a great experience.

    • I totally recommend getting the book from the library before the classes! And yes, I’ve had some great teachers and I’ve had some that I feel like I just paid way to much for a sew-in! And that’s frustrating! And I’m caught not wanting to speak ill of any quilter, but also wanting to warn others to not spend the money!!! Ahhh!!!🙂 But this is not the case with Krista!

  3. So bummed I missed you in the sewing with leather class! Your pouches look great. Krista is a great teacher and I agree – if you have the chance, take her classes : )

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

