Olympics Craft Flashback

We love watching the Olympics around here! Just last night the kiddo decided he needed to ‘sleep’ on the couch. That was code for ‘stay up way too late to watch the Olympics!’

As we’re watching I remembered this post of the Olympics crafts we did 4 years ago and one of my favorite pictures of the kiddo! I love the one above of him pretending to win Gold! And I still have the Olympic Rings Wind Chime hanging in my sewing room. (no, I don’t get much tinkling from them in my sewing room!)

So I’m reposting our cute little crafts!

Using the same technique we used to make the sun catchers, we made the Olympic Rings and medals. Put the beads in a muffin tin, cook at 400 degrees for 25 minutes (with the fan on) (be sure to read the post here for more information and also cook while the kids are out and about and away from the cooking source and in a well ventilated room. See disclaimer at end of original post), pop out of the tin and drill holes. Yep, easy as that!

The wind chimes make a great little tinkling sound as they bounce around in the wind. And trust me… I heard a lot of it as I tried to take these pictures on a beautiful, yet windy, day

And then the medals!!! What kid doesn’t want their own medal? And they are fun to make!!

The Gold, Silver and Bronze! Ok, so the silver is actually clear, but I didn’t have any clear grey or silver beads…


The medals are still a hit and he busts them out every now and then! OK, back to watching.  Go USA!


  1. This is a fun craft to do with kids! I love the Olympics too! I am still trying to force my kiddos to love it, they get bored real quick…maybe this will help them get into it!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

