Me+You Fabric Challenge with Seattle Modern Quilt Guild

We just recently had a guild challenge using fabrics from Hoffman Fabrics line, Me+You.

MeYouChallenge-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

It’s a line of bright saturated batiks. When I first head batik, I opted out. Then I saw them and opted back in! Be sure to check out the hashtag #meandyouandseamqg and you’ll understand why I opted back in! The line is a great line of fabrics, with prints and solids.

MeYouChallenge-Fabric-ImFeelinCrafty

I had grand plans for this project…. But they didn’t pan out as planned…

MeYouChallenge-Design-ImFeelinCrafty

As you probably know if you follow me on IG, I’m loving the Quilt Design A Day FB group. So for this project, I had planned on making one of my QDAD designs into a mini quilt/pillow.

MeYouChallenge-Circle-ImFeelinCrafty

I started with the circle using the reverse applique process that I used here. Looking pretty good, I thought. Feelin’ good about it!

MeYouChallenge-Applique-ImFeelinCrafty

Then I added little squares using the needle turn applique process. I looked at a few tutorials…. I was originally inspired by Carolyn Friedlander‘s book Savor Each Stitch. But I hated how it looked. I need more practice….

MeYouChallenge-RevApplique-ImFeelinCrafty

Then I tried teeny tiny reverse applique. Didn’t like that either… So I cut up the circle! And made some improv quarter circles….

MeYouChallenge-Front2-ImFeelinCrafty

Added some circular quilting….

MeYouChallenge-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

And it ended up looking absolutely NOTHING like the original design! Nothing! But I like it!

I wasn’t able to make it to the show we had at Pacific Fabrics in Northgate, but we ended up with quite an impressive group of designs!

MeYouChallenge-Show1

MeYouChallenge-Show2

MeYouChallenge-Show3

All show photos via AllisonSews and SMQG

 

 

Comments

  1. I love your finish – actually looks like alot of great finishes in this challenge!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

