The Weight of Love Quilt

Man, friends! I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been making a lot, but not blogging a lot. I don’t know how I used to make and blog 3 times a week and still have a life!


Anyway, it’s finally time to show a new finish! I finished my Weight fo Love quilt! The pattern is a Libs Elliot pattern, but as far as I know, you have to take the class to purchase the pattern.


I was in a bit of a creative slump when I signed up for her class. Actually she came to Seattle and I took two of her classes. And since I was in the slump, I thought these looked like fun quilts to learn about. And they are. But I mostly learned, that I enjoy making my own designs than someone else’s.



For this one, it was kinda like a paint by number to get you started. Then it was all about the Hex n More ruler. I’ve wanted this ruler for a long time, but I finally ‘HAD’ to have it for class, so I bought it! Yea!


Don’t get me wrong… I love this quilt! But I feel like I didn’t have the connection to it that I do to some of my others since it isn’t my design. But I didn’t love it as much until I quilted it. Then I fell in love all over again!


The back even shows it better!


I’m was asked a few times how I laid out the quilting lines. I use one of these smooth tracing wheels and a straight edge. I mark a section, quilt, mark, quilt, etc… It was worth the extra work if you ask me!


For the back, I use a lot of left over fabric from the front. But I also couldn’t let go of a few fo thsoe extra hexagon, so I made them into the back.

The quilt is intended to be appliqued onto the quilt top. But, um, nope! Not this one. I add a row of grey on each side and sew-d them all the hexagons again! Applique is not my strong suit!


My son always asks why I take a picture of the tag… So now I have to just to tease him!


All in all, I’m pretty happy with it and I’m keeping it for myself. The class? I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t learn more. But I am happy I got get the pattern and make this quilt and spend time with by quilting buddies!


And this is also a finish on my Quarter 3 Finish Along!

2016 Finish-A-Long


  1. aquilterstable says:

    It turned out beautifully! Does your tracing wheel work basically like a hera marker?

  2. Tina Sheppard says:

    Beautiful and inspiring!

  3. that is a great finish – I love my hex and more ruler, also the sidekicks. Your colors are wonderful and the mix is just right – I can see how one could get totally lost and frustrated with this pattern.

  4. aquilterstable says:

    p.s. On behalf of the FAL cohost, thank you for joining in!!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

