A Little Auction Creature- Kid Designed, Momma Made

One thing I love to make are stuffies (what we call stuffed animals) and dolls from kids drawings! And every year I also offer this as a thing at the kiddo’s school auctions. Rarely, do the people who buy them actually cash them in to get made. So I was really excited when the parent who got it last year, actually took me up on the offer! You can see some of the Kid designed, momma made creatures here and here.

This guy doesn’t have a name, but he’s pretty cute!

AuctionCreature-Plans-ImFeelinCrafty

These are the directions I received. He had to be pink, skin color, you know! He comes with a top hat with a purple band and a white crystal on top! So that’s what I did!

AuctionCreature-Side-ImFeelinCrafty

oh, and don’t forget the tail!

AuctionCreature-Scale-ImFeelinCrafty

So my kiddo didn’t design this one, but I felt like it needed a kid for scale! He’s kinda big!

AuctionCreature-Making1-ImFeelinCrafty

And how did I make it?? Well, it took a few trials. I started with the pattern from Ikat Bag that I used for my Pikachu. But then altered a bit here and there. I added the tail and altered the front and head to get the right shape.

AuctionCreature-Making3-ImFeelinCrafty

AuctionCreature-Making2-ImFeelinCrafty

 

I used a good bit of heavy interfacing for the hat and ears. I did have to cut my sample a few times and contact the designer to make sure I was getting the correct orientation of the ears!

AuctionCreature-Making4-ImFeelinCrafty

And I added a little pouch of the bean bag fill to give it enough stability to stand up straight.

AuctionCreature-Hat2-ImFeelinCrafty

AuctionCreature-Jewel-ImFeelinCrafty

I think my favorite part of the design was the ‘white crystal’ in his hat.

AuctionCreature-Drawing-ImFeelinCrafty

You can look back up at the original drawing to see the picture without the stuffie in it and then look back at this picture. What do you think? Do you think he matches what the designer drew?

AuctionCreature-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

The weird thing is… I love making these, but I’ve never made one for my son. I need to look through his drawings and find a good one to make one for him! I wonder what this years auction will bring!

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Love your little stuffie!

  2. aquilterstable says:

    You are entirely TOO clever! I love your concept and what a joy this will be to the designer kid!

  3. Rochelle Summers says:

    What a great job. I hope you had lots of fun. I’m sure he will be well loved!

  4. I can’t believe people don’t redeem their creature coupons. This one turned out fantastic, and very true to the drawing.

  5. onceawingnut says:

    Super cute!

  6. PaperPuff says:

    Brilliant!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

