Left and Right- Do Good Quilt Finish!

It’s long overdue, but I did finish another quilt! Another Nurture Circle do. Good Stitches Quilt!

Remember how I do those Quilt Design a Day projects? I haven’t posted any of those on the blog recently, either… Well, this quilt started as one of those designs! (you can see the group here)

OctDoGood-Inspiration-ImFeelinCrafty

This was the prompt we had! This silly picture of heart shaped sunglasses by design seeds was the inspiration. I took this and came up with this…

OctDoGood-QDAD-ImFeelinCrafty

I got some great feedback on this design, so I knew I wanted to make it into a quilt. I thought the variation of fabric from a quilt bee would make this quilt fantastic!

OctDoGood-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

And, if I do say so myself, I think it turned out pretty fantastic!

OctDoGood-FrontCanoe-ImFeelinCrafty

I think it was a pretty easy block for the group to make. Each person made 18 half square triangle blocks, 6 of each color. You can find all the directions here. I’ll post the directions to the blog shortly!

OctDoGood-DetailFront-ImFeelinCrafty

I’m so in love with the colors! And the variations on each color that came from all the members.

OctDoGood-BackTrees-ImFeelinCrafty

OctDoGood-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

For the back I made a play on scale and made the one of each flying geese, but BIG! I always try to avoid these pictures with the wind, but I love how this one shows the little ones on the front juxtaposed next to big ones!

OctDoGood-BackDetail-ImFeelinCrafty

This picture shows the quilting the best. I did my usual straight line quilting, but at an angle with the flying geese. Then did a little stitch in the ditch along the flying geese to get the zigzags.

OctDoGood-Label-ImFeelinCrafty

And of course, my label picture! I had fun photographing this one at the boathouse where we recently had our SMQG retreat with the help of Allison Sews and Snippets of Sweetness!

OctDoGood-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

And I can mark this one off of my 2017 Finish A Long Quarter 1 List! Linking up here.

 

 

