Easter Cupcakes

Have you started planning for Easter? Easter baskets, snacks? Family meals? Egg decorating?

I admit that I am not a great cake decorator, but we had fun with these cupcakes! I came up with three different ones! It was just one of those days where you weren’t planning on making something, but the idea came and you had everything you need. I love those days!

EasterCupcakes-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

So, I am trying to come to terms with my cake decorating limitations, but I have another kitchen flaw… I’m also not good at boiling eggs! It seems like one of those things that everyone can do. You put eggs in water and boil the water, right… Well, I still have not made a batch of hard boiled eggs without cracking at least a few.

EasterCupcakes-Eggshells-ImFeelinCrafty

So I had an idea of what to do with those broken ones! I carefully cracked them and removed the eggs. Then cleaned out the shells and dyed them just like the hardboiled eggs. In the nice little old fashioned Paas dye kits!

For these I just filled the eggs with robin’s egg candy and secured the egg shell in the icing!

EasterCupcakes-Chicks1-ImFeelinCrafty

EasterCupcakes-PomPomChicks-ImFeelinCrafty

Here’s the OMG moment when I realized I had a whole bag of pompoms down stairs! A bag of different sized pompoms, a bit of red paper and some hot glue and you’ve got some chicks!  Oh, yea! You know that crafty feeling I’m talking about, don’t you? I was running back and forth with this big cheesy grin, decorating cupcakes and making pompom chicks!

EasterCupcakes-Chicks3-ImFeelinCrafty

EasterCupcakes-Chicks2-ImFeelinCrafty

And for my third idea…

EasterCupcakes-Nest-ImFeelinCrafty

I wanted to make a birds nest! The kiddo says it looks like a birds nest…  With jelly bean birds eggs. I think they turned out cute, too!

EasterCupcakes-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

But I’m pretty sure the pompom chicks are everyone’s favorite!

 

