Inset Corners- A Quilting Tutorial

One more post about my Raindrops on Wildflowers Quilt! I’ll show you how I made all those inset corners!

I made the block up to start with, but then I had to figure out how to actually put it together. I thought about more piecing, but I had to make a lot and that would have been too many steps per block. So I had to figure out how to make with as few pieces as possible. I made a little video of how many steps there still are in the block!

Anyway… I digress… Back to the corners… Maybe everyone else knows how to do this. I did a lot of inset corners on the Weight of Love quilt I made, but for some reason it took me a little while to get it to make these blocks! I kept forgetting which way to sew them together… Finally it stuck and I was on a roll!

InsetTutorial-02-ImFeelinCrafty

First up, stack the two fabrics on top of each other so that they overlap.

InsetTutorial-03-ImFeelinCrafty

Then trim the two pieces of fabric. And you end up with the pieces above.

InsetTutorial-04-ImFeelinCrafty

Mark one piece, on the right side, 1/4″ down from your corner.

InsetTutorial-05-ImFeelinCrafty

Mark your second piece, on the wrong side, 1/4″ down from the corner.

InsetTutorial-06-ImFeelinCrafty

InsetTutorial-07-ImFeelinCrafty

Stack your dots! I’m using solids, so it doesn’t really matter for me, but you’ll want these to be right sides together!

InsetTutorial-08-ImFeelinCrafty

InsetTutorial-09-ImFeelinCrafty

Then sew, using a 1/4″ seam along the edge and stop at your dot.

InsetTutorial-10-ImFeelinCrafty

InsetTutorial-11-ImFeelinCrafty

When you stop at the dot, leave your needle down, but raise your foot. Then pull your top fabric around to align with the bottom piece. Sometimes the fabric wants to bunch under the needle, sometimes it doesn’t. Not sure why… But when it does, I just go in with my tiny scissors and move the fabrics behind the needle so they aren’t bunching. If you watch the ‘video’ above, you’ll see these steps in action!

InsetTutorial-12-ImFeelinCrafty

Then continue sewing out to the other end!

InsetTutorial-13-ImFeelinCrafty

Here’s the kicker! Iron into the V. If you iron the other way, you’ll get bumps.

InsetTutorial-14-ImFeelinCrafty

Then you have this!

InsetTutorial-done-ImFeelinCrafty

Some pretty awesome looking inset corners! Oh, yea!

InsetTutorial-green blocks-ImFeelinCrafty

Honestly, I kinda hated cutting the second one off to add the half circles. But it had to be done. I thought about not using the half circles on the back blocks, but I really like the half circles, too. Big Dilemma I had!

Hope this helps in your sewing fun!

Comments

  1. Great tutorial! Thank you:). I have always been a bit intimidated by inset corners. Maybe I will have to give them a try. Do u have your pattern available?

  2. Wow! It look easy but I’m too intimidated. It’s a beautiful quilt! And I love the color.

  3. Sarah Helene says:

    Modern look in bright colors for geometric shapes. Great close up photos for instructions. I like the half circles. Thanks for sharing.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

