The Chaos Quilt

Another quilt finish! Sometime soon, I’ll show you one of the non-quilt projects I’ve been working on… But not today!

I took a class with Libs Eliot for her Chaos class last year. Back when I felt like I was in a design rut… It was an interesting class. I don’t know that I’d call it a class actually… It was more of a, shall we say, a directed sew-in….

ChaosQuilt-Front2-ImFeelinCrafty

You pick a handful of block designs and then roll a dice to random place your blocks. Then you start piecing! Pretty easy! It is interesting to see how different, yet how similar everyone’s quilt from the class ended up!  I really love the colors I chose, if I do say so myself. And best thing about it… All the fabric was from my stash! Oh, yes! Boom!

ChaosQuilt-Quilting-ImFeelinCrafty

It took me a while to decide how I wanted to quilt it. At first I thought I wanted to random lines around this way and that… I had a couple of other ideas, but they weren’t right either. then came this straight line pattern. I started a little way out and worked into the center. At the time I was quilting with my regular all purpose foot because my walking foot was not working. It totally pulled on the fabric and it looked horrible! I waited until my new walking foot came, picked out all the quilting and started over. Best decision!

ChaosQuilt-Front1-ImFeelinCrafty

I then headed back to where I started and then worked my way to the outside of the quilt. And I just kept going and going….

ChaosQuilt-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

The back! For the back of this one I used all the blocks that I miss cut! I did somehow cut a few wrong…  Also there were a couple of extras that I made on accident, so I cut them down to fit in, too. I like the back. It kind of looks like a mini version of the front!

ChaosQuilt-Back2-ImFeelinCrafty

ChaosQuilt-Label-ImFeelinCrafty

Throwin’ in the ‘ole label photo…. Did have to order a new set of 50 for 2017… Will I use them all this year… Ha!

ChaosQuilt-FrontFarAway-ImFeelinCrafty

People often ask me what I do with all my quilts. I keep a few. I gift them every now and then. But, a good bit of them go to charity organizations. This one went to my son’s school auction. Since it’s not my design, I’m not as attached to it as others I’ve made. But I’m super excited about the recipient who ended up being the highest bidder. My kiddo’s second grade teacher and she’s very excited about it!!

 

Comments

  1. Sarah Helene says:

    Love the 2 bright colors — red & turquoise mixed in with white, grey & aqua! Lots of pizzazz! Sarah in Minneapolis

  2. aquilterstable says:

    This turned out beautifully! I like how you quilted it!

  3. Boy, I really like this quilt! What kind of batting did you use? Shows off the stitching so well.

  4. This looks awesome! I love the colors

Trackbacks

  1. […] quarter I got three of my to do list done! I got the Inside Out Pineapple Bed Runner, the Chaos Quilt and the Raindrops on Wildflowers quilt finished. Pretty good… So once again the list is going […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

