Running Away- QDAD to Reality

Although I haven’t done one lately, if you follow me on IG, you know I love the Quilt Design A Day challenge!

Yes, this is a quilt from last year… But I haven’t posted about it yet…. Now that we have that out of the way… SO! When I heard that the QDAD group was going to have an exhibit at Quilt Con, I knew I wanted to participate! And I did! And my quilt went to Quilt Con! It was so cool! My first year getting to go to QC and my first year with not one, but two, quilts in QC!

Running Away-QDADImage-ImFeelinCrafty

Is this making any sense to you? Are you wondering what I’m talking about?? So the QDAD group has a ‘spark’ every day and it was the same thing with the show. We had the image above, by Michelle Wilkie, that was voted on by the group as I understand (It was before my time in the group) as our spark. It’s a view from the Highline in NY. Sometimes I can come up with a design in the typical 20 minutes that you are encouraged to spend on the design problem. Now this one… Different Story! I started to hate this image!

Running Away-Transformation-ImFeelinCrafty

Here’s a little insight into my design process! This one went through a LOT of transformations! I started with the top left image and moved across the top row. Plus more… Then I switched gears and started moving closer to the final design…

Running Away-Quiltcon-ImFeelinCrafty

Once I got the design settled, the quilt was a breeze! Honestly, I wouldn’t be surprised if I spent more time working on the design than the quilt!

Running Away-FrontDetail-ImFeelinCrafty

There are a couple of things about this quilt that I love. One is the quilting. It’s nothing fancy, but I love how straight and even I got it.

Running Away-MatchedBinding-ImFeelinCrafty

And secondly, I love how the matched binding turned out! I think it really makes the quilt!

Running Away-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

Running Away-BackDetail-ImFeelinCrafty

And then the back turned out pretty cool, too. I used left over fabric from the front, but also leftover blocks from the front. Now I know there’s some fellow Bama fans out there thinking, what are you doing making a quilt in Auburn colors??? Well, it’s hard for me to believe too, since I was brought up not having a fondness for this color scheme. But I have grown to love the blue and orange together! And remember, I was given the color scheme and fabric colors for this one!

Running Away-Label-ImFeelinCrafty

The token label picture…

Running Away-Photoshoot-ImFeelinCrafty

ok, I just had to throw this behind the scenes photo in. I don’t know why exactly, but I love it!

Running Away-OtherQuiltsqc-ImFeelinCrafty

Let’s go back to QuiltCon for a minute. The coolest part of this challenge was seeing everyone else’s quilts at Quiltcon. We watched each other come up with designs and then execute them. But to get them all together and see how different each one is, even though we all started from the same inspiration photo, was awesome!

These are just a sampking of some of the other quilts from our exhibition:

Top Row (L to R): Windows and Angles by Carol Byrnes; Structural Transparency by Emily Doane; Finding Home by Anne Sullivan and City Lights by Stacey Day

Bottom Row (L to R): City Windows by Carolyn Goonrye; Downstream by Yvonne Fuchs; Bend Don’t Break by Karen Foster and City Squares by Tiffany Baxter.

Running Away-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

And back to the beginning! I love how it turned out!

Comments

  1. It is awesome.

  2. aquilterstable says:

    Love hearing all about it and seeing some of the other quilt. You hit it out of the park with this one!

  3. Very nice pictures of your quilt. Beautiful. I admire you because you can quilt. Do you quilt often? I was reading about you and you sound like a busy woman. Architect are you? My one brother-in-law is an architect. Good for you.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

