Modern Sampler Quilt

You may remember me starting the Modern Sampler Quilt Along with Salty Oat, way back in at the beginning of last year. Then I got most of the blocks done by May and then finished the beginning of this year.

This quilt is pretty much not my style at all! I like it, but the low volume, not me! It was a fun challenge to try to stay low volume for a whole quilt!

ModernSamplerDone-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

And the pattern… Well, how to put it nicely… It was challenging. Maybe it was the difference between being familiar with my own versus a Japanese pattern. Or maybe it was just ‘challenging’. And the blocks weren’t our usual 10.5″ inch type block.

But I couldn’t stop. There were a couple of blocks that had me considering packing it up and calling it done. But I didn’t! And I’m glad I didn’t.

ModernSamplerDone-BRblocks-ImFeelinCrafty

ModernSamplerDone-Topblocks-ImFeelinCrafty

ModernSamplerDone-Lblocks-ImFeelinCrafty

Some of the blocks were more challenging than the others. But what I did get used to was all the mitered corners on each block! The last few look much better than the first few. It just takes practice!

ModernSamplerDone-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

And the back! Although it’s upside down in this picture, I do like the minimalist layout! ha!

ModernSamplerDone-Binding-ImFeelinCrafty

ModernSamplerDone-Label-ImFeelinCrafty

And a little bit of color to the binding!

ModernSamplerDone-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

It’s hard to see all the details that went into this quilt in the full frontal pictures. So this quilt is going to my do Good Stitches group They have very kindly agreed that I can keep my do Good quilt from last year that got accepted into the Quiltcon Show if I send in this one! I’ve grown very attached to my other one! I can’t believe it has taken me so long to show this one off!

ModernSamplerDone-Last2-ImFeelinCrafty

 

 

 

Comments

  1. aquilterstable says:

    oh I wish I could see this one in person! What color IS it that you framed it all in? Congrats for getting it done – I DO know what a challenge it was!

  2. Tina Sheppard says:

    So BEAUTIFUL! After just having foot surgery, I am trying to get myself kicked into high gear. I want to get some quilts done to go to the people who have lost so much lately. A friend sent a few quilts to Houston. One of the ladies who received one, hugged it and told them that “it was now the only thing that she owned that was not covered in mold”. That sure motivated me. I will try to do as much as I can.

  3. Janet Crouch says:

    I love it, and it makes me want tozero in for a closer look! Intriguing.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

