Kindle Cover Tutorial!

Kindle covers! Finally! At least that’s probably what my friend that I was making these for was probably thinking today when I finally gave one to her!

Remember last month when I made the ipad covers? Well, this same friend also ordered the kindle cover at the same time! Oops… I got caught up in everything holidays. Then I spent some time really trying to get it right and figuring out how to secure the kindle on the bottom, because the same corners I used at the top would cover the buttons on the bottom….

She requested a pocket too, to keep the power cord safe and nearby. So I set to work and this is how I made it…

Kindle Cover Tutorial

Step 1: Materials

Fabrics, I use 3 coordinating pieces

Clear Vinyl

Heavy Interfacing

thread

scissors, rotary knife

Velcro

Step 2: Cut out all this pieces

Back piece: (1) 11 3/4 x 8 3/4

Interfacing: (1) 11 3/4 x 8 3/4

Inside Left: (1) 6 3/4 x 8 3/4

Inside Right: (1)6 x 8 3/4

Pocket:(1) 7 1/2 x 10 1/2

Clear Pocket: (1) 2 1/2 x 6

Corners: (2) 2 1/2 x 2 1/2, fold in half to make a triangle

Flap: (2) 4 x 4, I used 2 different fabrics (one of each)

Velcro: (2) 2 inch pieces

Step 3: Make the pocket.

A- Fold over the top fold 1 1/2, 2 times. And sew on the velcro.

B- Topstitch the fold at the top and bottom.

C- Sew in darts. These will be small. I did mine about 1 1/2 over and so that the final dart is a little smaller than 1/4 inch. You want the final dimension at the bottom to be the same 6 3/4 inch dimension as the inside right piece.

D- Sew on velcro to the inside right piece.

Step 4: Cut the notch in the vinyl. And fold over the top about 1/4″ and topstitch.

Step 5: Sew together all the inside pieces down the interior center. Stack the inside right piece and pocket, right sides facing the right sides of the vinyl pocket and left side piece and the inside top corner piece. Sew these together. Then iron flat (except not the vinyl) and topstitch each side.

Step 6: Make the flap.

A- Sew velcro onto the flap.

B- Place the pieces, right sides together and sew three sides. Cut the corners.

C- Turn right side out, iron and topstitch.

Step 7: Iron interfacing to back cover.

Step 8: Sew on velcro to back cover.

Step 9: Place the back and inside pieces together, right sides together. Sew together the back cover piece to the inside piece. Be sure to leave a hole to pull the cover right side out.

Step 10: Pull the kindle cover through the hole and iron flat.

Step 11: Topstitch the cover.

Step 12: Wahhhhhllllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

If you look closely the vinyl at the bottom gets a little crooked on one side…. at first I was ok with it, so I set it aside in a bag to deliver. But it kept whispering to me…. ‘Louise, are you really ok with the little flaw in my pocket?? Are you sure???’ So I had to go make another one!

So what do you think? Have you made the switch from paper to electronic?? I am still stickin’ with the paper version of books, but am pretty excited about how the covers turned out!!

 

Shared with the these link parties!

Comments

  1. love the idea of the clear vinyl and the pocket for the charger!

  2. These are beautiful! I found you on SITSgirls.

  3. very great and useful!

    I linked to your tutorial on my blog – thanks for sharing!

    doro K.

  4. I wanted to let you know I referenced this post in my most recent blog post about my Christmas sewing projects. Thanks for the tutorial! You can find my blog post at http://agirlsgottalive.blogspot.com/2012/12/christmas-sewing-projects.html

Trackbacks

  1. […] She also refers to her technique of drawing with her sewing machine. An example of that is her oh-so-lovely Kindle Cover Tutorial.  […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.