Fabric Bunting Tutorial

Today I am working hard on projects to get done before we head out on a spur of the moment vacation, so I thought I’d bring home another tutorial I did last year for Go To Sew! I know it’s a repeat, but I’ve got some other fun things in the works to share so just bear with me!  A fabric bunting! Quick and easy! A sweet thing to hang in the house or give as a baby gift (or any sort of gift for that matter)!

Bunting-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I made a bunting a LONG time ago and I made it too big! But this version is a smaller one with a little something extra. Quilting! Recently a colleague asked me to make one, so I did! And I thought I’d tell ya how I made it so you can make your own!

Bunting-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

The materials you need… You’ll need fabrics for the bunting pieces and fabric for the binding, a cutting tool, pinking shears, and batting. And if you’re wanting to add letters you’ll also need something like heat and bond (two sided fusible adhesive) and your letters. The pattern for the triangles is here.

Bunting-Step1-ImFeelinCrafty

step 1- Cut and cut and cut! Your fabric and your batting into triangles.

Bunting-Step2-ImFeelinCrafty

step 2- Stack your bunting pieces. Lay the back side right side down, then your batting and then your front side right side up.

Bunting-Step3-ImFeelinCrafty

step 3- Sew the three pieces together on the two long sides. You don’t need to sew the top side.

Bunting-Step4-ImFeelinCrafty

step 4- Trim the two sewn sides with pinking shears.

Bunting-Step5-ImFeelinCrafty

step 5- If you’d like to add letters you can here. Iron on the interfacing to the back of the fabric you want the letters cut out of. Then trim the fabric to the right size of the letter. remove the backing from the interfacing. Then iron on the letter. Depending on the interfacing you use, you can stop here if it’s a no sew interfacing.  If it’s a sew on interfacing, topstitch now.

Bunting-Step6-ImFeelinCrafty

step 6- Now for the binding. You could use premade binding if you’d like. Or you can make your own. I cut two inch strips, sew-ed them together at an angle and then folded it in half and ironed. Then folded the sides in again and iron again. And lastly, sew it to the flags.

Bunting--End-ImFeelinCrafty

And you’re done! See? Simple! What fabrics would you use? What occasion would you make one for? Enjoy!

Comments

  1. I’ve not considered simply pinking the edges! I would have used the right sides together then turn right way out method… But this seems more simple so I think I’ll make mine like this! And adding some batting (or wadding as I would call it) is a good idea. Thanks! I’m going to make just a small amount to hang on my shelving unit where I keep my sewing things 🙂

  2. I’m making one for a baby shower. How do you hang yours? I’m thinking of adding ‘strings’ on the end to tie – ?? thoughts?

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.