Quick and Easy Bunting Tutorial

I’ve been meaning to make a tutorial for the Dragonland bunting I made, because it was a spur of the moment, super fast decoration! Well, today is Halloween and yesterday I decided to make a last minute Halloween bunting decoration. So the tutorial is in Halloween fabrics, but of course can be anything! It’s an almost no sew decoration. Almost…

Materials:

Background fabric

Fabric Scraps for Letters

Fusible Adhesive, like Steam to Seam or Heat’n Bond Ultra

Double Fold Bias Tape

Printed Letters

Thread

Scissors

Pinking Rotary Cutter

Step 1:

Cut out the flags. Here’s the pattern I use, but of course, you can make the triangles any shape you want!

Step 2:

Iron on the Fusible Adhesive to the back side of the Fabric Scraps.

Step 3:

Cut the letters out of fabric.

Step 4:

Remove the paper from the Fusible Adhesive (Although this may seem obvious, I sometimes forget this step and iron and can’t figure out why the letters aren’t sticking!). Iron letters to the flags.

Step 5:

Pin flags into the bias tape. I start at the center of the bias tape and the center of the middle letter and work my way out. I also overlap my letter about one inch or so (not a needed detail necessarily, but it’s what I do!).

Step 6:

Sew the bias tape and flags together.

Step 7:

Show off your new bunting!

The forecast today was for a super rainy gloomy Halloween. Seems fitting for a bunhc of ghosts and goblins… It has turned out to be beautiful and we’re on our way to trick or treating. I can’t wait to share our little ones Halloween costume!

Trackbacks

  1. […] thing to hang in the house or give as a baby gift (or any sort of gift for that matter)! I made a bunting a LONG time ago and I made it too big! But this version is a smaller one with a little something […]

  2. […] made a bunting a LONG time ago and I made it too big! But this version is a smaller one with a little something […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.