Valentine’s Day Quilted Postcards- a Tutorial

I’m super excited about this project! Our Seattle Modern Quilt Guild is doing a Valentine Postcard swap. When we first heard about it, I decided I was in, but I wasn’t super excited. Then I started making mine and got hooked!!! Obsessed!

ValentinePostcard-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I came home and started looking around online for instructions and sizes so I could make some and mail them. I couldn’t find a tutorial that didn’t include an applique type edge. I wanted a more quilted look….

ValentinePostcard-HST-ImFeelinCrafty

The first one I made was this one. I used a bunch of 1 inch squares, but then couldn’t quite get the back to work. It’s also super thick for mailing with all the seams! So as much as I love this one, it’s not what I wanted for a quilted postcard valentine up taking the plunge into the mailbox!

ValentinePostcard-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

So I made some more! But this time I made patterns! More paper piecing for me! I couldn’t decide on just one, so the pattern actually has 3 patterns in it! I have the set of patterns in my Craftsy store, for $5.00. But the tutorial is free! So let’s get to it!

ValentinePostcard-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

You’ll need a little bit of fabric, a 4×6 piece of batting, a 4×6 piece of cardstock, patterns and I use basting spray. I used mostly scraps, so needless to say, you don’t need much fabric!

ValentinePostcard-Patterns-ImFeelinCrafty

Print and pick your favorite pattern. Each pattern has two outside lines. One for making a 4.5 x 6.5 inch block. The second is larger for making the postcards.

ValentinePostcard-Step1-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Step1b-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Step1c-ImFeelinCrafty

Paper piece your hearts! If you’re new to paper piecing, my tutorial on that should help! Sew together and then tear off the paper.

ValentinePostcard-Step2-ImFeelinCrafty

Center the batting on the quilt block. I use basting spray, but you can pin too. Spray the spray on the batting, not on the quilt block. You’ll have a little more than a half inch on each side.

ValentinePostcard-Step3-ImFeelinCrafty

Quilt the block and the batting together.

ValentinePostcard-Step4-ImFeelinCrafty

Iron the edges in half and over again.

ValentinePostcard-Step5-ImFeelinCrafty

Spray baste the cardstock onto the batting.

ValentinePostcard-Step6a-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Step6b-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Step6c-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Step6d-ImFeelinCrafty

Time to do the ‘binding’! Fold the block over the edge of the card stock and start sewing. The corners are a bit tricky. Especially if you have a bunch of seams like I did in my first postcard. So following the pictures, fold, fold, fold and fold one last time. Then continue sewing!

ValentinePostcard-PostcardsBack-ImFeelinCrafty

And you’re done! Ready for mailing!

 

ValentinePostcard-Mailed-ImFeelinCrafty

And just in case, I mailed one to myself, just to check… I did use a regular letter stamp instead of a postcard stamp. One, because I had it and I didn’t have a postcard stamp. And two, I though they might need extra postage since they are thicker than a plain postcard…..

ValentinePostcard-BigHeart-ImFeelinCrafty

These are so fun! Pretty quick, too! Now I have to make more. I need some for the swap and now I want to send them on to family!

ValentinePostcard-Cover-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentinePostcard-Postcards1-ImFeelinCrafty

Which one is your favorite!

Comments

  1. These are darling! And wouldn’t they be wonderful not just for Valentine’s Day but also for birthday greetings? The card would be the gift in that case. Thanks for taking the time to share your tutorial–I appreciate the step-by-step pictures, walking me through it.

  2. Great idea. I think anyone would be tickled pink to receive a pretty special card like that. Well done! 🙂

  3. These are ALL adorable, but my favorite one is the gray and white small block one! You are soooo crafty!

  4. oh thank you! I was waiting for this to get back to my card for the swap! I like the one with the flat heart tops. Very cute!

  5. Woah. These are amazing. I did some heart paper piecing last week too. I love the patterns you came up with, but my very favorite is the first one you did! I love it! Thanks for always being inspirational.
    With Love,
    Al

  6. I love these! They’re all so pretty, and I love the grey background. Now I’m going to have to find an excuse to send a quilted postcard!

Trackbacks

  1. […] I didn’t really decorate this year! I made a wreath and a ton of kiddo Valentines and my own quilted postcards, which is all WAY more than I usually do for Valentines […]

  2. […] also made Penguin Valentines, Out of this World Star Crayon Valentines, Lego Valentines, Quilted Postcard Valentines and Pixelated Valentines.  And now Harry Potter! […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.