X Marks the Creation- The Kiddo’s Quilt

This bog post is WAY late. Even though it took years to post it doesn’t mean I’m any less impressed with my kiddo! Way back in 2020 he designed and quilted this mini quilt and won 2nd Place in the Youth Category at Quiltcon!

Back in 2020, Curated Quilts hosted a youth mini challenge Youth Mini Quilt Challenge. The challenge was to have youth and another quilter collaborate on a 10×10″ to 16×16″ quilt that used navy blue, mulberry, spring green, aqua, evergreen, soft grey, and white.

I pulled out some scraps in the colors noted for the challenge and hung them on the design board.

The kiddo came in and arranged them in an X design with overlapping colors. Then I came in and pieced the scraps to match his design as close as possible to the original layout. You can see in the picture above, I would piece a mirror of what he designed for each arm of the quilt, before taking down his layout.

Then the kiddo came back and did all the quilting!

We ended up not meeting the timeline or the size requirements for the Curated Quilting challenge, but we pressed on and just went with it. And I’m glad we did. It just couldn’t be that small!

Once he had it on the design wall, it was too cool to try to downsize it to fit the challenge. Instead, we entered it in the Quiltcon show, it was accepted, and he won 2nd Place in his category!

The kiddo’s quilt description-

I started this quilt by making up ideas with my mom and this one just stuck. I came up with the design by thinking about geometric shapes. First off it was just a plain old X, but then I thought we needed to add more colors. So I got the idea of stacking the colors onto each other in different sized strips.  I included the white and grey as something to make the colors POP!  My mom pieced it because I’m not that advanced, but I came up with the colors and placement and everything. After that, I did all the quilting and binding.

I got the notice about him winning and had to keep it a secret until the Awards ceremony! He was having a sleepover at the time and I had to make them both watch. I think they were wondering why! Until the Youth announcement! Yea!

And here is now with the quilt. He’s grown a lot since then, but we still love the quilt!

The back we pieced we pieced with the scraps left over from the front.

I’ve been trying to get him to make another one. He started one, but never finished it… I’m still working on it!

Comments

  1. Michele T says:

    Wow! Your son is a natural modern quilter! A cherished creation indeed!

  2. aquilterstable says:

    I really enjoyed reading about this quilt. It’s a stunner! For some reason I didn’t notice the gray vs. white background until seeing it here. I think the focal design is just so striking!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.