It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane, No It’s Super E!!!

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but this year I’m trying to make all the gifts I give…  Ok, so it hasn’t happened completely, but I’m trying. And I know once the birthday and Christmas come around for my little guy there will be store bought gifts… Oh, we’re also going through potty training and gifts are our ploy. I’m NOT making a gift for each time he goes potty on the potty. Now if I had been thinking ahead I could have even got this done, but…. Ha! As I write this I realized how it could have been done, but I digress from the subject at hand…

Sooooo… The other day was our precious little neighbor’s birthday. I wanted to make her something, but wasn’t sure what. Then it hit me… Felt food! She loves her kitchen and her cash register.. . Then her Momma had three great words about felt food. Dog Hair Collector. Since we have been without animals since the summer before my son was born, I hadn’t thought of that little detail.

Back to the drawing board…  She also loves dress up… Ahhhh…  A cape! I was tempted to make another t-shirt cape like I made Max, inspired by The Southern Institute‘s tutorial, but since this is a present I decided on something a bit more finished.

I started with the t-shirt cape pattern (hint hint… more t-shirt fun to come this week!) from the one I made for Max. Cut out some super hero emblem shapes and the letter E, all of which I baked with Heat ‘n Bond Lite (for sewing). Sewed the pieces together, added some Velcro and wahlah!

But just a cape? No! We needed a crown (What Super Woman goes out without her crown??) and a wristband!

For the crown I included a layer of super stiff interfacing to help it keep its shape for all sorts of crime fighting adventures. I might just need one of these myself to wear around the house….

And of course, no present is complete without a matching gift bag!

But, alas, the super hero ensemble did not trump the sparkly fairy wings…. Maybe it was just that there was no crime solving to be had on birthday day. Just a peaceful fairy day. Crime solving super hero will come again in need to solve the woes of the world… It’s Super E to the rescue!

Shared with:

Visit thecsiproject.com

Comments

  1. Those are great! And I’m sure the need to fight injustice will present itself soon, then those fairy wings will have to take a back seat. 🙂

  2. I love the superhero ensemble. I was actually considering something similar for a little girl’s birthday coming up. The crown and wristband are awesome additions I hadn’t thought of.

    I found you through The CSI Project and I’m your newest follower. Come check me out and follow back, too, if you’re interested @ Carissa’s Creativity Space

    • lwackerman says:

      You can’t forget Super Woman and her crown! 🙂 She was the inspiration… hehehe… Please let me know if you make these for the party. I can also do a tutorial for the crown if you’d like. I’ll check out your blog.

      • I’d love to have a tutorial for the crown!!! My son wants a superhero cape. His older sister (by 55 weeks) has to have everything he does, so we are doing a “princess cape” for her. He gets a mask. She’ll get a crown. 🙂

      • I’ll see what I can do. I was about to make another one and was wondering if I still had the pattern and was even wondering if I remembered how to make the crown, too! I’ll see what I can do! Thanks!

      • veiledturnip says:

        Have you made a tutorial for the crown? I would love to attempt this as my daughter has a superhero party to attend. Also your cape looks very different to the t-shirt one – did you have an actual pattern?

      • Ahh! This has been on my to-do list for a while! I need to do a tutorial for both of those, but I just haven’t yet! Let me see if I can find the pattern I made for the crown. The cape, I just kinda winged it, I think. I’m planning a superhero party myself, so I know I’ll be posting tutorials on these with that, but it’s not until October. I’ll see what I can find and get back to ya!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Warning: Our Make Your Own features could bring your crafting skills up to Etsy-status. This tutorial shows you how to create an adorably sweet (just don’t tell her that) ensemble that includes a crown and wrist cuff.  Link […]

  2. […] Like this super cute set from Feelincrafty […]

  3. […] from I’m Feelin’ Crafty shared how to make a custom cape from the DIY Superhero Cape Tutorial at The Southern Institute. Louise also made a matching […]

  4. […] 50. super eroine, tutorial di https://feelincrafty.wordpress.com/ […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.