Heart Shaped Crayons- Tutorial

Yep, the crayon tutorial. Yep, it’s been done before, but I want to do it a little bit different… Kinda like a sheet cake, I mean crayon, and cookie cutters.

Materials:

Baking Pan

Aluminum foil (optional)

Peeled Crayons

Heart Shaped Cookie Cutters

Note about the ‘Optional’ aluminum foil method- I was doing it this way with the aluminum foil, but then realized I like the way without foil better. You get a smoother finished underside without foil, but it means giving up the pan to the crayons… You decide! 🙂  So some pics are showing the ‘optional’ way….

Step 1- Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Step 2- Fill the pan with the peeled crayons.  Optional Method- Line baking pan with aluminum foil. Use the large size foil so that you don’t have to overlap  (My first batch I tore the aluminum foil and then overlapped… If you want to keep the pan for baking, this is not a good idea…) and then fill the pan with the peeled crayons.

 

Step 3-Cook the crayons for about 15 minutes.

Step 4- Let the wax cool for about 20 minutes. You don’t want it too warm that it’s still gooey, but you don’t want it too cool so that you can’t cut the wax with the cookie cutters.

Step 5- Use the cookie cutter to cut out the shapes.

Step 6- Let it continue to cool before separating. I put mine in the freezer for a while and then they just pop right out!

Step 7- Slide them in the Valentine envelopes, give and enjoy!

Comments

  1. This looks fun and easy! Can’t wait until Maci is old enough to enjoy crayons. Did you use all of those colors mixed together to make a red heart? If so, what color comes out when they are used? Just curious….

    • lwackerman says:

      Yes, I just threw all the colors in for my first batch. the wierd thing, they ended up red on top (which was perfeect) and all sorts of colors on the bottom. 🙂 The second batch I used some left overs from the first batch, but mostly red, pink and orange crayons. They came out a little bit more red on top, but not by much.

  2. So sweet and such a fun project.

    PS Thanks for letting me know you used my recipe and for all your lovely comments!

  3. How many does this make generally?

    • Oh, my! I have no idea! It all depends on how many crayons you use and the size of the cookie cutters. And it was a couple of years ago that I made them, and honestly, don’t remember how much I used!

  4. Emily Peterson says:

    Can you use a cookie cutter more than once and place in freezer to cool, or so you need to leave the cookie cutter in the pan with the melted crayons? Want to make them for a school valentine day card / gift but need them to be all the same or at least 50/50. Hoping to avoid buying a mould

Trackbacks

  1. […] Make Crayons What to do with the million broken crayons you have? I know we all have creative tricks and tips of ways to melt them down, but here’s one more! Make your own favorite shapes super easily. Cookie Cutter Crayons […]

  2. […] de crayones es formando unos nuevos con formas hechas con moldes para galletas. El método en https://feelincrafty.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/heart-shaped-crayons-tutorial/, está en inglés, pero con las imágenes lo van a […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.