A Portable Ironing Board Tutorial

Another super simple tutorial! A portable ironing board! With the weather (finally) turning nice around here, I like to take my sewing machine outside and sew in the sun! The problem is, I hate carrying up the ironing board… So I thought, why don’t I make a tiny ironing board to take outside with me???

And I needed it to take to my in-laws ‘summer house’ as my son calls their little getaway cabin…

It’s so simple, it’s getting a simple tutorial to go along with the simplicity of the project!

Step 1: Gather your materials, A round piece of plywood (from Lowe’s), batting, fabric, stapler or staple gun, scissors.

Step 2: Cut out the batting about 2 or 3 inches larger than the circle.

Step 3: Pull the batting tight and staple it to the plywood as you go around the circle.

Step 4: Cut the fabric about 4 to 6 inches larger than the circle.

Step 5: Pull the fabric tight around the circle and staple as you go.

I totally recommend a staple gun if you want to do this by yourself! Or if you’re super strong and don’t need someone stronger than yourself, you might not need a staple gun. My sweet husband had to help me with the staple part. Since we were out-of-town we didn’t have our staple gun, so I had to enlist the help of my husband to do the stapling with the plain ‘ole stapler.

And WAH-LA!! You now have you’re very own portable ironing board!

What are you going to take outside to sew and iron??

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Mary Mac says:

    Fantastic idea, I have so many pieces of fabrice I could use for this.

  2. What a great idea! We live in a pretty small place and don’t iron that much, so this would be perfect!

  3. I’m glad I could help!

  4. That is so clever! Awesome idea.

  5. This is wonderful! I live in a dorm room and this would be great for such a small space.

  6. This is a good idea, but make sure the staples aren’t placed on a surface that could be scratched if the “spot” moves.

    • Very true! Ya know, my original plan was to cover the back with felt applied with fabric glue, to cover the staples and raw edges of the fabric. But when I was making it and needing to use it right then, I forgot about the felt! Thanks for the reminder! I might have to do an update!

      • Joyce Burns says:

        I am redoing my sewing room and love you idea. I am thinking of running bias tape and elastic arond so that I can easily slip it on and off for a fresh change. Also no worry about scratches. I may also place it on a cut out piece of that non stick stuff that you put under things to keep them from slipping….you really got me started!!!!

  7. LOVE this idea! Why haven’t I thought of this before? ~M.

  8. AND, AND, AND if you attach a Lazy Susan base, you can have one that swivels around – so no need to lift and replace for those bitsy ends, edges or corners!!! Or buy a Lazy Susan from IKEA-land and off you go… life’s a spin… I would NEVER have thought of this had you not posted this one, so heaps of thanks!

  9. Thank you for this nifty idea! My sewing room is very small, is this is ideal for those quick seams, etc. I used a cake decorating board, two layers of cotton/bamboo batting and some 100% cotton curtaining fabric, backed it with felt and added a cotton twill braid handle to hang it! All ready to go.

  10. Do you make these to sell?

  11. Great idea! My only suggestion would be to use a wooden lazy Susan to turn the project instead of the iron.

Trackbacks

  1. […] You might need a full size ironing board for your laundry room, but for pressing seams open a smaller ironing board might be just the thing.  Instead of having to get up and walk across the room to use the big ironing board, you can place a small ironing board at the end of your sewing table.  Feelin’ Crafty shows how to make one using a small plywood circle as the base.  Think of it as an ironing spot rather than an ironing board.  Get the how-t0. […]

  2. […] Another (crafty) option for a portable ironing board. […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.