KCW Day 3- The Beachy Boatneck

I know, it’s not PJ’s… I could make PJ’s all week, but… I’m in love with this one!

KCW-3-Boatneck-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I love this pattern for the Beachy Boatneck by Blank Slate Patterns. I got it in a bundle of beachy patterns from Pattern Anthology.  I was moving right along. The pattern was super easy to put together! Nice and quick. I was so excited about my details, too.

KCW-3-Boatneck-Dtl-Neck-ImFeelinCrafty

Like, look how pretty the neck looks. I debated about topstitching. I didn’t want to do the double stitch, so I ended up with a slight zigzag to keep the stretch.

KCW-3-Boatneck-Dtl-Seam-ImFeelinCrafty

I even got most of the stripes to line up!

KCW-3-Boatneck-Dtl-InSeam-ImFeelinCrafty

I used my new ‘serger like’ stitch I found to finish all the edges.

KCW-3-Boatneck-Dtl-Tag-ImFeelinCrafty

I added a tag. My son ALWAYS asks, ‘Which way is front?’ And I ALWAYS say, ‘Where’s the tag?’ So, I need to remember to add tags to the clothing that I make as well!

KCW-3-Boatneck-Head-ImFeelinCrafty

And then we tried it on….

KCW-3-Boatneck-Head3-ImFeelinCrafty

And tried it on…

KCW-3-Boatneck-Head2-ImFeelinCrafty

And tried again…

Note to self- Always try on before adding finishing details!

My son has always had a big head. It was even a little issue during childbirth, but I won’t go into that story here. His day care teacher LOVED it and said in her country large heads are a sign of brilliance! In my world, it doesn’t fit in shirts I make for him! Remember, we had a little trouble with the Popsicle PJ’s, too.

KCW-3-Boatneck-Shirt-ImFeelinCrafty

I don’t know what I did! The stretch is all going in the right direction. I used a stretch stitch to sew the neckline… I guess I need to modify the neck a little next time. I haven’t decided if I’ll try to fix this one or not. I took out the topstitching, but it didn’t help…

Any ideas?

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. my kid had a big head, too. if it’s any condolences, he’s 12/almost 13 now and it seems to have leveled out. *grin*

    wondering how you’re going to fix it. it’s such a cute top! if you do, i’d like to see what you did!

  2. It’s a lovely shirt:) Pity about the neckline:( Maybe a little triangle of elastic insert on each shoulder? I don’t really know what I would have done, it really is too nice to bin!

  3. Oh noooooo! I can’t believe it did not fit your son! What a bummer! What are you going to do now? I have no suggestions. Did you purchase your tags or did you make them yourself? I saw a neat website that showed how to print and make your own tags on ribbons. Here’s the link: http://tutorialadventures.blogspot.com/2011/09/tutorial-how-to-make-your-own-labels.html

  4. It is SOO cute!! So sad that it doesn’t fit over his head! But great color choices and finishing! 🙂

  5. could you perhaps undo the shoulder seam on one side (or both) and add a button closure? I think that’s what I would do xx

  6. Soo cute, bummer it didn’t fit. Maybe one of your son’s friends will enjoy it?

  7. Oh dear, I think I know how your ‘big head’ story goes…I had one of those too! :/ I’ve got a tutorial on my blog for adding a snap/button placket to the back of a tee with a too small neck. I’ve put them on quite a few of my sons tees!

  8. I’m so sad it didn’t fit – such a cute shirt! You might try a shorter, wider zig-zag stitch for more stretch.

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.