September do.Good Stitches Quilt

My second do.Good Stitches quilt for the Nurture Circle is a success! If I do say so myself!

SeptDoGood-Main-ImFeelinCraftyThe family loves it so much, they asked if I could donate money and keep the quilt…. Um, no. But I’m glad they like it!

SeptDoGood-FrontMain-ImFeelinCrafty

I’ve been wanting to do a half square triangle quilt for some time now. There is a ton of inspiring ones out there, for sure. But I wanted the blocks BIG! So we each did two 20″ squares! We followed the tutorial at That girl that quilt, method one. We started with (2) 15 inch squares of different colors, sewed around the edges and cut per the tutorial. This leaves you with (4) 10.25 HST squares. For more variation, you actually need to do it 3 times, which actually gives you enough for 3 blocks.

SeptDoGood-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

I guess I could have made a super huge quilt, but instead I did something I have never attempted before… I made the back and front of the quilt the same! When I was basting it, I realized it was a little trickier than I realized it was going to be to match up all the lines. It’s not perfectly aligned, but it’s pretty close!

SeptDoGood-QuiltingDtl-ImFeelinCrafty

The other problem with making the same front and back was that it was hard to come up with a quilting pattern. If I followed the triangles on the front, it wouldn’t be the same on the back… They are the same, but the triangles don’t necessarily go in the same directions! So I picked this grid pattern! I like it!

SeptDoGood-COlors-ImFeelinCrafty

SeptDoGood-Blocks-ImFeelinCraftyI also love the colors! Have you read The Invention of Wings? It’s fantastic! It’s about slave ownership and two sisters that grow to fight slave discredit and abolish the owning of slaves. Which doesn’t sound like a very fun topic, but trust me it’s awesome! The two main slaves in the story are the seamstresses for the family and they are also quilters. In the first few pages they describe a quilt they are making and it’s these colors, pink, orange, red and purple. And black. I was totally inspired. I knew I wanted to put these colors together with a half square triangle quilt!

 

SeptDoGood-Binding-ImFeelinCrafty

My original intent was to add in some black once I got the blocks. But I loved it just the way it was without the black. So then I was going to bind it in black…. But obviously, I didn’t do that either. I used a scrappy binding combining all the colors of the quilt.

SeptDoGood-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

I also wanted all solids. I used Kona Solid Kumquat for orange, Kona Solid Tomato for the red and Kona solid Pink for (You guessed it) the pink. The purple is a Clothworks. The white is also Kona Solid White. Each person used at least 3 colors and white.

SeptDoGood-FoldedLable-ImFeelinCrafty

Our group uses the labels and I love how perfect the colors matched!

SeptDoGood-WrappedSitting-ImFeelinCrafty

 

I’m also super excited that this one, plus two others from our circle, was nominated to be in the do.Good Stitches Quilt Show at Quiltcon! I’ll know soon if it made the cut or not!

SeptDoGood-WrappedWhite-ImFeelinCrafty

Our quilts go to My Very Own Blanket, an organization that give foster kids their very own blanket. I recently learned that they personalize each quilt with the child’s name. I certainly hope that whoever gets this one loves it as much as my kiddo does!