A Happy Valentine’s Day Wreath Tutorial

Are you getting your Valentine’s Day crafting on yet? I don’t think I did much of it last year… I think I’m making up for lost time. I just keep coming up with ideas to do that invovles pink and hearts…. I can’t help myself!!!

ValentineWreath-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

The funny thing is that I started making this wreath and it seemed so hot pink! Then I made the melted bead hearts that are pink. The pink of hte hearts make the wreath look almost purple! I think I might have to make more melted bead hearts… Maybe some silver ones…. Anyway, I’ll show you how I made this one!

ValentineWreath-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

For this project I used my My Own Fringemaker, curly ribbon and a wreath form. Do you throw out those forms that come on your Christmas wreaths? No!!! For one, I hate throwing things away. And secondly, Seattle is crazy with trash, recycling and compost. So you can’t just throw things away these days, so I always take the dead pine branches off the wreath form and save the forms.

ValentineWreath-Step1-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step2-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step2b-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step2c-ImFeelinCrafty

 

ValentineWreath-Step2d-ImFeelinCrafty

The first part is winding and winding and winding the ribbon along the fringemaker. Tie a knot at the beginning, wind and then tie another knot!

ValentineWreath-Step3-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step3a-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step3b-ImFeelinCrafty

 

Now sew! Be sure to pull at least 3 inches or so of thread out before you start. Then sew along the middle of the frame. I wind my ribbon pretty full, but as I sew I pull the ribbon so it’s not so tight. It also just kind of happens, the ribbon pieces just don’t sew as tight together as they go through the machine. And like when we started, leave a thread tail!

ValentineWreath-Step4-ImFeelinCrafty

Next, cut the ribbon off the My Own Fringemaker frame.

ValentineWreath-Step5-ImFeelinCrafty

And you get this great fringe! I might have to make more and more of this for the mantel!

ValentineWreath-Step6-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step7-ImFeelinCrafty

ValentineWreath-Step8a-ImFeelinCrafty

Using your thread tail, tie the ‘garland’ onto the wreath form. Then wrap around and around and around. Next, bunch it together. I had to do ALL the previous steps 4 times to get the amount of ‘bunch’ I liked.

ValentineWreath-Step8-ImFeelinCrafty

And you’re done! You end up with a cute little fringe wreath!  You could be done… Or you can keep going and add the hearts!

ValentineWreath-MeltedBeads-ImFeelinCrafty

I used my own melted bead tutorial. Yes, I had to go back and check it out since it had been so long since we had made them! These I did do a little differently though. Instead of using a pan, I used cookie cutters on a cookie tray. I made one batch while I was watching the Seahawks playoff game. The game got pretty stressful there at the end, so I had to make a second batch to ease my nerves!

ValentineWreath-Step9-ImFeelinCrafty

I just hot glued a few together and hung them on the wreath. Finished!

ValentineWreath-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

What are you making for Valentines Day?

 

Comments

  1. I’ve never seen a fringe maker, but that is pretty neat.

  2. So cute!!! cant wait to try it! ❤

  3. Louise, this fringed wreath is adorable! Thank you for using MyOwnFringemaker.com showing people another use for a project that might have been thought of – YOU are very clever.
    Thanks again and I’d like to post this too, if I may.

Trackbacks

  1. […] This neat wreath from I’m Feelin Crafty comes with an easy to follow […]

  2. […] Day? Sitting here writing this, I realized I didn’t really decorate this year! I made a wreath and a ton of kiddo Valentines and my own quilted postcards, which is all WAY more than I usually do […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.