June do Good Stitches Quilt

This quilt was started as my month as the quilter back in June! So I’ll start be apologizing to the group for taking so long to finish it!

JuneDoGood-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

I was honored when a group member asked if I’d pick my Inside Out Pineapple block for my month! So of course I said yes. I totally wanted to see it as a finished quilt!

JuneDoGood-FOldedMain-ImFeelinCrafty

All the quilts we do for the Nurture Circle of do.Good Stitches are awesome, but most of them are not this time consuming! I’m worried I might have scared a few out of the group with this quilt! I hope not…

JuneDoGood-Blocks2-ImFeelinCrafty

JuneDoGood-Blocks1-ImFeelinCrafty

I asked the group to make two blocks each and to use a contrasting color between the center and the ‘rings.’ Most everyone did. A few forgot and different tones of the same color. And you know what…. I love it! Of course I wasn’t going to ask them to redo it. I actually love the mix. It works and makes the quilt even more interesting!

JuneDoGood-Detail-ImFeelinCrafty

I love the pattern and it seems to be very popular! But it’s time consuming. I really want to make one for me, since this one is going to away to Covered In Love. Maybe a block of the month is in my future! It’s a paper piecing pattern that is basically four blocks in one. It’s not hard, it just takes a little while!

JuneDoGood-FOlded-ImFeelinCrafty

I debated on the binding. I love making bindings out of multiple fabrics, but for this one I finally decided on a yellow. I didn’t want it to take away from the blocks and to me, the yellow became a very sweet complement!

JuneDoGood-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

For the back I considered enlarging the block for a super huge block. Then decided to just mimic the center and one white ‘ring’ around it! I did decide to keep it with the solids on the back.

JuneDoGood-BackDetail-ImFeelinCrafty

One reason it took so long to get this one done was the quilting…. I had this great idea that I wanted to go a circular pattern, but n=most of the summer and into the fall I had a loaner machine and I wasn’t liking the circular stitching. I got my machine back and was all about the circle… Until I started…. And I didn’t like it. At all. So i picked it all out and went with the lines of the block and stitched in the ditch. Much happier!

JuneDoGood-FOldedLast-ImFeelinCrafty

JuneDoGood-Tall-ImFeelinCrafty

One of my favorite things about the quilt is that one block with the light, light yellow and the hot pink center! The contrast with the other blocks is great!

JuneDoGood-Side-ImFeelinCrafty

Thanks to all the ladies who participated in this one!

And I can finally cross this off my Finish A Long list!

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. This is really something! You and your bee get an atta boy for going above and beyond!

  2. It looks awesome! Great job, great block choice 🙂

  3. This is a gorgeous quilt! I just love it!!! Thanks for sharing.

  4. This is just fantastic! I hope we (I) didn’t run anyone out of the group but I do feel this is possibly our best ever!

  5. Oh my goodness ~ I LOVE this!!! And darn it, I hate paper piecing!! But gosh, this, THIS is sooo lovely!! Oh. My.

Trackbacks

  1. […] ten things on my list! I finished four of them! I finished the glitz quilt, Dad’s quilt, The Inside Out Pineapple Quilt and the rag quilt (I just haven’t blogged about that one […]

  2. […] my month to pick the quilt for our Nurture Circle of do.Good Stitches. The last one I did was the inside out pineapple block. It was fantastic! But it was time consuming… And since yesterday was April Fools Day, I […]

  3. […] one did not make the Mini Challenge cut to be featured in the magazine. My InsideOut Pineapple Quilt did make the cut for the full size quilt gallery, […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.