A Super Hero Party

I can’t believe another birthday has come and gone! It’s been 5 years since the little guy joined us! And this years theme… Superheroes! In case you haven’t noticed from all the costumes I’ve been making!

SuperHeroParty-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

About a week after his Pirate Party last year, pirates were kinda out (even though he swears they aren’t and he still plays them sometimes) and superheroes were in! SO we’ve been learning a lot about super heroes. It all started with Spiderman. Which he still loves ALOT! but now his favorite one is the Flash, since he says they have the same super power.

SuperHeroParty-Invite-ImFeelinCrafty

As usual, Momma made fun invitations and Dad made most of the decorations! The invites were based on old school BatMan comic books, were coloring book comics on the inside and mailed the clear plastic envelopes that you buy vintage comic books in. Not sure the kids really got the clear envelope thing, but I did and it made me happy! I do know that the kids like the invite, though! And as usual Dad made almost life size superheroes decorations and a bunch of little buildings! And of course, Max LOVED helping make everything and really being a part of all the planning!

SuperHeroParty-Envelope-ImFeelinCrafty

I asked the Post Office people if I could mail the invitations in the clear envelope and was told ‘No, plastic envelopes will melt in the machines we run them through.’ Well, that didn’t make any sense to me! So what did I do? I mailed them anyway. And of course I mailed one to myself just to make sure. And did it come back to me? Why yes it did! Did they make it to the other party kids? Why yes they did!

SuperHeroParty-Playing-ImFeelinCrafty

Since his birthday is the end of September, we never know about the weather. And this year we got rained out of the park. Luckily, we called Camp Long where Max had his Dragon Land Party, and there big room was still available 2 days before the party. And it was perfect! And it stormed all day! I can’t take as good of pictures inside, but the kids don’t care about that! The party favors were the capes and the masks and the kids loved running around with them, or laying on the floor pretending to be flying! They seemed to have just as much fun inside as they would have outside!

SuperHeroParty-PinTheHair-ImFeelinCrafty

It has become a little tradition at our parties to have some sort of pay on the Pin the Tail on the Donkey game, so of course we did it again. Momma came up with Pin the Cape on the Superhero. But as Dad and Max were designing the superhero decorations, Max came up with some other options. The first one was Pin the Shorts on the Hulk, which we didn’t pick (for kinda obviously weird reasons) or Pin the Hair on the Hulk. Pin the Hair on the Hulk it was!

SuperHeroParty-CuffCollage-ImFeelinCrafty

The other activity we have made a tradition is the art project! So to go with the masks and capes, we gave everyone wristbands to decorate! There was a lot of glue and glitter involved!

SuperHeroParty-Pinata-ImFeelinCrafty

I’m not a huge fan of piñatas, but around here all the kids seem to have them, so this year we added in the piñata! And of course, it needed to be a superhero themed piñata, so Max, Nannie and I made a Flash piñata! I wanted to make it strong enough so that all the kids got a turn at it, but I think I ended up making it a little too tough. Some of the dad’s had to help to get it to spill out! But that was ok for the kids, once the candy and toys were spilling across the floor! Luckily, the place we had let us use one of the shelters for the piñata!

SuperHeroParty-Cake-ImFeelinCrafty

And then it was time for the Spider Man cake! And presents! I love how the characters Dad made look like they are hanging out with the kids opening presents!

Flash-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

I had promised Max a Flash costume. We had gotten the fabric and everything we needed for it, but it kept getting pushed to the bottom of the pile. Then came party decorating and party supplies came in. Then the day before the party, Max reminded me… I HAVE to have my Flash costume for my party! And that he did!

SuperHeroParty-5-ImFeelinCrafty

Max turned 5 in his Flash costume!

Stay tuned for more party fun this week! As I mentioned above, my pictures of the ‘pieces’ didn’t’ all come together during the party, but we had a lot of fun pieces and more to come that were planned, but not finished in time. I don’t know why, I knew it was a super hero party plenty of time ahead, but for some reason I didn’t get all the pieces of plan pulled together in time. At the last minute it came down to me having my ‘pieces’ or the kiddo having his costume. The costume won!

Comments

  1. What fun! You definitely have the details under control! Love the invites – very cool. Did I tell you we had a peanut butter party once and the invites were plastic food tubes from REI (shaped kinda like toothpaste). Filled with pb, the invite details were on one side, the mailing label on the other. And yes, I mailed one to myself too! 😉
    I also love your straws with capes. All in all, just amazing. Lucky Max!

  2. Sarah Helene says:

    What a DREAM birthday party for MAX as he turned 5 years old! A SUPER HERO PARTY with many friends to celebrate . . . and a piñata—WOW! The last photo tells it all— smiling MAX dressed in his Flash outfit and holding his large stars candle of 5! Lots of FUN for everyone, INDEED! Sarah Helene in Minneapolis, MN

  3. I absolutely adore this! My son is slightly obsessed with the Justice League! Such great ideas 🙂 We will be using some for his party coming up! Thanks!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.