A Kitchen Inspired Gift Set

We didn’t know what to get my in-laws for Christmas. My husband wanted me to make placemats. I didn’t think I had time to make placemats…. So I bought a spoon…

Placemats-Gifts-ImFeelinCrafty

A really cool Spoon! And then I decided to buy some cool napkins at Bed Bath and Beyond to go with the spoon. When I found the awesome napkins, I also found a really cool Seattle neighborhood map cutting board (yes this one is Chicago, but our store actually had Seattle even though it’s not online. Trying not to take that personally…). And then of course, you need placemats to go with everything else!

Placemats-All4-ImFeelinCrafty

So I made placemats! Everyone needs them. I love making them. So why not!

Placemats-Stars-ImFeelinCrafty

This one I used one of my favorite patterns, the Mini Trajectory Paper Piece pattern by Simply Cotton! I’ve used it before a few times… Once for a do Good block, I made a placemat for us with it and I used it for my paper piecing tutorial!

Placemats-Squares-ImFeelinCrafty

The wonky log cabins is a favorite. No pattern here!

Placemats-Hexagons-ImFeelinCrafty

Another no pattern mat… Just some hexi’s to match the napkins!

Placemats-Cross-ImFeelinCrafty

Again, a bit of paper piecing with improv! This pattern is a free pattern from Wombat Quilts, the Star String Paper Pieced Pattern. I did have to scale the pattern down a bit, just like I did with our placemats!

Placemats-Detail-ImFeelinCrafty

I do love the circlular stitching. I haven’t attempted it on a large quilt yet, but it looks awesome on the little placemats!

Placemats-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

And for the back, I used some fabric that I had been hoarding…. For the whole project I used fabric from my stash! So that felt really good!

Placemats-Together-ImFeelinCrafty

Don’t they look good together??? I think so!

Placemats-All4Last-ImFeelinCrafty

I LOVE making placemats! I think it’s the satisfaction of finishing a quilt, but it’s just a tiny quilt! I don’t do many mini quilts because I don’t’ have anywhere to hang them. And they just get rolled up and stashed… But the placemats get used so I feel like I can make them! And they make for a fantastic gift!

Comments

  1. They look AWESOME together – each placemat is just lovely in its own right. And I love the overall gift – I would have loved that!! 😉

  2. What a lovely idea!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.