Hopscotch with The Shaffer Sisters

Can you believe the series is almost over again!!? Where does the time go? Our last guest is Al, from the Shaffer Sisters! If I had a sister, I hope we’d do as many fun things together as the ladies behind the Shaffer Sisters blog!  They seem like so much fun and I love how they all craft together! They have been guests before and always make the sweetest dresses! So happy to have them back this year! Welcome Al!

This year when I considered the possibility of games I could choose from, I found myself daydreaming of simpler days. I remember spending hours upon hours outside with my cousins pretending with our red wagon and stick horses, playing hide and go seek, and kick the can at grandma’s house. As I reflected, I realized that this year I wanted my theme for Sew Ready to Play to be more timeless than the projects I’ve done in the past.

 

Hopscotch is one of those outside games that can be played anywhere with very little effort. A few weeks ago we were sitting on the sidewalk waiting for the local parade to begin when the kids found chalk in the stroller. Before we knew it, there were a few hop scotch designs down and the kids were contently playing instead of impatiently waiting.

 

I had started out this project with the intent to make another dress for my very girly daughter, but unfortunately the printer was set to fit and not to actual size. I ended up with a dress in which the finished bodice fit my 1 year old daughter instead of my 6 year old. I didn’t realize this until I was practically done and had spent hours embroidering the hop scotch design on the skirt. The simplest thing would have been to just have my baby wear it, but it didn’t seem fitting since there’s no way a baby can hopscotch.

I wanted to recreate the bodice the right size and stick with my original design, but I lacked the emotional energy to invest that much more time into it. So when life gives you lemons make lemonade, right!?

And on that same day her little brother cut some of her hair an inch long

I seam ripped the skirt off the bodice and attached it to some elastic that I’ve been saving for just the right project.

Ty in her hopscotch skirt and Sally in her butterfly tunic and polka-dot leggings

The detail on the skirt was done by lightly sketching the hopscotch design and then going back and adding embroidery thread of different colors.

Skirts that fly are the only way to go for a 5 year old

She is happy because it’s a skirt that flies when she spins and has plenty of room for movement to navigate the playground.

With love,

Al