Quilt Design a Day

Have you seen people post pictures of their quilt designs for Quilt Design a Day? I’ve seen people post them and I’ve been very intrigued! There have been a few of Michelle’s Wilke’s QDAD designs, that I’d love to see as a pattern. So I finally joined the QDAD Facebook group and have started doing some on my own!

QDAD-160420-ImFeelinCrafty

IMG_3261

How it works is someone (not sure how that someone is chosen yet…) posts a picture (the second picture above) and you use that as design and color inspiration to use while you spend about 15 to 20 minutes to design a make a quilt design!

The one above is my very first one…. I do kinda like it. One person commented that it almost looks like a sewing machine!

My plan was to do this on my phone on my commute every day. I was having trouble finding an app. First I started with the Paper app. It’s really cool, but not for this. I tried a couple others, but they didn’t work. Then I tried the Illustrator app. I’m sure it’s great, but I couldn’t figure it out…. That’s what I used for the one above.

QDAD-160421-ImFeelinCrafty

IMG_3269

Then I moved to Photoshop on my computer for this next one. I totally see some bias tape at work on this one…

QDAD-160424-ImFeelinCrafty

IMG_3289

And now I’ve found it! The right app! I’m so excited! Another group member suggested the app, Assembly. And it’s perfect for this. I’m figuring out how to use it and looking forward to doing these every day.

My commute is only about 20 minutes each way, which is awesome! But it doesn’t leave me time to do much like cross stitch or sew hexies, or anything like that. I play solitaire. Which is supposedly good for exercising the brain…. But I’d rather be creative. And I think I found a way to do just that!

Comments

  1. aquilterstable says:

    I love the idea of QDAD for sure!

  2. So excited you joined and gave it a try. The commute sounds like the perfect timing!!

  3. I’m glad you are jumping in. i’m still pretty new, too. When I started we were just using photos from Design Seeds. Then Michelle suggested for the next month to use our own photos. I got the first week. It’s been fun! It’s actually encouraged me to want to take more photos, and think in a different way about how I take photos. Keep the designs coming! You’re off to an awesome start.

Trackbacks

  1. […] how I do those Quilt Design a Day projects? I haven’t posted any of those on the blog recently, either… Well, this quilt […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.