Left and Right- Do Good Quilt Finish!

It’s long overdue, but I did finish another quilt! Another Nurture Circle do. Good Stitches Quilt!

Remember how I do those Quilt Design a Day projects? I haven’t posted any of those on the blog recently, either… Well, this quilt started as one of those designs! (you can see the group here)

OctDoGood-Inspiration-ImFeelinCrafty

This was the prompt we had! This silly picture of heart shaped sunglasses by design seeds was the inspiration. I took this and came up with this…

OctDoGood-QDAD-ImFeelinCrafty

I got some great feedback on this design, so I knew I wanted to make it into a quilt. I thought the variation of fabric from a quilt bee would make this quilt fantastic!

OctDoGood-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

And, if I do say so myself, I think it turned out pretty fantastic!

OctDoGood-FrontCanoe-ImFeelinCrafty

I think it was a pretty easy block for the group to make. Each person made 18 half square triangle blocks, 6 of each color. You can find all the directions here. I’ll post the directions to the blog shortly!

OctDoGood-DetailFront-ImFeelinCrafty

I’m so in love with the colors! And the variations on each color that came from all the members.

OctDoGood-BackTrees-ImFeelinCrafty

OctDoGood-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

For the back I made a play on scale and made the one of each flying geese, but BIG! I always try to avoid these pictures with the wind, but I love how this one shows the little ones on the front juxtaposed next to big ones!

OctDoGood-BackDetail-ImFeelinCrafty

This picture shows the quilting the best. I did my usual straight line quilting, but at an angle with the flying geese. Then did a little stitch in the ditch along the flying geese to get the zigzags.

OctDoGood-Label-ImFeelinCrafty

And of course, my label picture! I had fun photographing this one at the boathouse where we recently had our SMQG retreat with the help of Allison Sews and Snippets of Sweetness!

OctDoGood-Last-ImFeelinCrafty

And I can mark this one off of my 2017 Finish A Long Quarter 1 List! Linking up here.

 

 

Comments

  1. This turned out really lovely! I love the quilt’s back too! You came up with a great design and all the blocks from your bee really came together nicely!

  2. I just adore this quilt! Simplicity and beauty in the design and execution. Nicely done.

    BB

  3. This quilt is so pretty!! I love it! I love how you pieced your back too. It’s like two quilts in one.

  4. Wow, this is stunning! Congrats on the beautiful finish!

  5. kislanykim says:

    Wow, it’s really amazing that that came from so many different contributions!!! It really looks like one whole! (If that makes any sense). Absolutely beautiful and it’s so cool to see what the inspiration picture inspired. This is really hit out of the park. And the photographs are perfect, too. Congratulations!

  6. This is truly awesome!! I love everything about it, colour, flying geeses and your backing! So Awesome! I wanna make my own!

  7. Lynne Tilley says:

    I absolutely love this quilt!! Love love love!

  8. Oh wow Louise this quilt is stunning! I can honestly say I like that back just as much as the front too. Truly a fantastic finish. Thank you for linking up, on behalf of the 2017 global Finish-A-Long hosts.

  9. Petite Pangolin says:

    Wow, you are an incredible artist! What a beautiful quilt–the design and colors immediately brought a smile to my face!

  10. LOVE LOVE the colors! so bright and crisp. lovely quilt!

  11. Thank you for donating this special and beautiful quilt to Covered in Love!

Trackbacks

  1. […] my do Good Stitches Left and Right quilt that I wrote about last […]

  2. […] made 6 quilts from those designs: Running Away, Rabbit Hole quilts, Raindrops of Wildflowers, Left and Right, Triangle Mountain, and Bright Tide Pools! And now we have number 7, […]

  3. […] is the same way I put together my Left and Right quilt, which was done with an online quilting bee group that I was a part […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.