Dr Seuss Party Series- Fish Party Favor Tutorial with a Printable

Ahhh! Where does the time go? My last party post was supposed to be on Friday, but it’s Sunday already!! Oh, my!!

I love to make handmade party favors for the kiddo’s parties! Last year was the Dragon Wings, this year it was Fish, the Cat in the Hat’s ‘buddy’! Or arch nemesis… Depending on if your reading the original The Cat in the Hat or watching the new Cat in the Hat cartoon series. Apparently over the years the Cat and Fish have become pals!

I really wanted to give the fish in goldfish bowls… But, we are talking a three year old birthday party! I was talked out of the real glass bowls by just about everyone! I think it was my Mother’s last email on the subject that finally made me give up on convincing people (and myself) that glass bowls was the way to go for a birthday party favor. She wrote, ‘All I can see is one child dropping the bowl and it breaking into a million pieces and the child is screaming wildly and all the other children and parents are freaking because they do not want anyone to step on all the broken glass, and then we’d have to fly someone to the ER to stitch the cut and stop the bleeding……….’

So we went with clear bags… Then I wanted to make clear bags so it looked like those bags you get from fish store when you bring home a fish…. But I ran out of time for that project. I did start it, but accidentally cut the clear vinyl wrong. And at that point I gave up on that and used these clear bags. As one parent told me about making the bags, ‘Now that would have been over the top!’

Fish was a pretty welcome guest. I loved watching the kids walking around the table eyeing them before they sweetly asked, ‘Can I have a fish?’ Of course!

And now for the tutorial so you can make some too!

Step 1: Gather Materials

Fleece. Or you could use felt, too.

A little bit of felt, black and white

Thread, to match the fleece and black and white

Scissors

Cutting Blade

Yarn, about 1 foot of black yarn, cut into 6 2″ inches

Stuffing

Pattern, print the pattern here.

Step 2: Cut out all the pieces. I cut the eyes for the tutorial opposite than I had on the actual favors! On the tutorial I did white with black centers versus the black with white centers. Which do you liked best? I’m thinking I like the black with white centers best….

Step 3: Eyes first! Sew on the black piece first. Make sure the eyes are facing opposite directions, one for each side of Fish! Then stitch in the u-shape. Lastly, stitch the eye to the body. Place the yarn in place under the eye. (I don’t trim the yarn until the very last step!) Or, like I mentioned above, you can do it opposite, with black and white centers.

Step 4: Fins are next! Sew the fins together. This step was a tricky one for me. I stitch them together and then trim them up a bit for a cleaner look. You could just use one layer of fleece, but I liked the thickness of the two layers topstitched together. Fold over the edge of the fin by about a 1/4″ and sew onto the body at the mark shown on the pattern.

Step 5: Sew together the underside! First sew the two half circles together along the straight edge. Next, sew one half circle to the teardrop shape at the curved end. lastly, turn right side out.

Step 6: Sew the body together.  This will be done in a couple of steps. This step sew together the top, follow the dashed lines on the pattern. Start with the ‘nose’ and go to the top fins. Stop and pick back up again on the other side of the top fins and continue to the tail fins.

Step 7: Sew on the underside. Place the underside, with bottom lip towards the inside, with the center of the top curve to the end of the stitch line. Start on one side and sew around to the point of the ‘teardrop’ shape. Stop and start again at the ‘nose’ and stitch around to the point of the ‘teardrop’ again, but this time continue to the tail fin.

Step 8: Pull the fish right side out through the top fins.

Step 9: Topstitch the tail fins.

Step 10: Stuff Fish.

Step 11: Topstitch the top fins.

Step 12: Trim eyelashes! And wahla! You’re done!

Now just find a clear bag, print the thank you’s and hand over to kids for a sweet gift! Download the thank you’s here. Or if you have older kids, consider the glass bowl… I still love the gold fish bowl!

 

Shared with these parties!

Comments

  1. Kathryn loved her fish and kept it in the bag — err fishbowl — when she wasn’t playing with it for a very long time (until the bag essentially got destroyed from overuse and i had to toss it).

  2. Great pattern and tutorial! What an inventive mom you are too! 🙂

  3. Oh! I remember the dragon wings. I think that’s how I discovered your blog! I love these fish! My 2-yr-old is obsessed with The Cat in the Hat and this idea is perfect. No parties coming up, but I will surely make one especially for her! Thanks for a great tute and for linking @ This Week.

  4. i wanted to thank you for this pattern, im helping a friend make 40 of them for her son’s birthday party, these are way to cute, i want one for myself.

  5. I’m in the process of making these for my son’s party, I love them! So creative! I’m only making 10-12, definitely not 40! Haha!

  6. I’m so glad I found you blog post! Dr. Seuss week is coming up at my girls’ school so I’m thinking of making mini versions of your fish and temporarily sewing them on to a blue shirt for one of the days. They’re so cute and easy enough I’m almost sure I won’t mess up. [;

  7. Nneoma Okoro says:

    I love these! My party won’t be complete without. I’ve made several attempts at making these, epic fail. Would you consider making me 10 and selling them to me. The instructions were as simple as day and night however I don’t have a creative bone in my body. The party is in July. Please let me know

  8. I don’t even want to try to make one because I know I will epically fail!
    I was wondering if you can possibly make 3? & how much would you charge me?
    Thank you 🙂 I need them for November

  9. Sherry says:

    Just what I was looking for, only hope I can do justice to your pattern (first time working with felt).

Trackbacks

  1. […] out I’m Feelin’ Crafty for the tutorial and all the lowdown on the party. Filed Under: Party Favors | Tagged: Tagged […]

  2. […] How about the fish that does not approve of that Cat in the Hat? Make a stuffie fish! This post has a printable Thank […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.