A Super Simple (reusable) Sandwich Sack Tutorial

Or you could just call it a Lunch bag, or a snack sack, a baggie… Gotta come up with something catchy for a title you know!

SandwichBag-title-ImFeelinCrafty

At our house we try to use as little throw away stuff as possible. Our recycling bin fills up much faster than the trash can. A while back the city was talking about stopping trash every week and only coming every other week like they currently do with our recycling. Which would be fine with me, if the recycling would be picked up every week!  So if anyone out there can make that happen at my house, I owe ya! Anyway…

SandwichBag-Pile-ImFeelinCrafty

For my son’s lunch I don’t think I’ve ever used disposable packaging in his lunch. My husband has been using those plastic baggies that I hate. He does recycle them a few times before they get thrown away. And he’s starting to move over to my boxes… I use a bunch of plastic boxes. Which sometimes make getting the kiddos lunch into his lunch box a big puzzle. So bags are my answer!

SandwichBag-Materials-ImFeelinCrafty

First you need to gather your materials. I’ve been wanting to make these for ages, but have been hesitant because I couldn’t find the right material to use. You can search for articles about food safe materials all over the place, but I finally decided to go with the Eco-PUL from Diaper Sewing Supplies. The reason is that is solvent-free, environmentally friendly, releases no volatile organics, machine washable and is food safe! Cool.

SandwichBag-Cut-ImFeelinCrafty

So here’s how I made my sacks, or bags, or pouches! First, obviously, you need to cut them down to size. For the sandwich size, I cut a piece 8 inches by 16 inches. I ordered the Diaper Cut Pack to get more colors. So I cut two sandwich sized bags, then divided the rest into smaller snack sized bags. I got about 6 bags per piece of Eco-PUL.

SandwichBag-03-Cut-ImFeelinCrafty

Secondly, I used a plate to round off the top. Trim.

SandwichBag-04-sewTrim-ImFeelinCrafty

With the pieces right sides together, sew around the edge. I used a 1/4 inch seam allowance. And don’t forget to leave a hole! Trim the corners.

SandwichBag-05-turn-ImFeelinCrafty

Turn the bag right side out. And then I ironed the seams, but use a low heat and iron on the fabric side, not the PUL side!

SandwichBag-06-velcro-ImFeelinCrafty

SandwichBag-06-starwars-ImFeelinCrafty

Sew on the Velcro. Yep, had to make a Star Wars bag!

SandwichBag-07-topstitch-ImFeelinCrafty

SandwichBag-07-topstitch2-ImFeelinCrafty

SandwichBag-07-topstitch3-ImFeelinCrafty

Topstitch. First topstitch across the top. Next, fold over the bag, start at one corner and top stitch all the way around to the other corner!

SandwichBag-Bags-ImFeelinCrafty

And before you know it, you’ll have a bunch of bags!

My husband and son are already asking for more!

Have you made sandwich bags before??

Comments

  1. Awesome idea!! I checked out their website and the shipping was a bit much, so I checked over here and found Plush Addict.co.uk. The patterns are sooo cute, I might have to put them on both sides!!

    xxx

  2. These are a really good idea! I hate getting through so many plastic food bags for my dinner!

  3. great idea!

  4. Awesome!! And thanks for sharing the link to the food safe PUL. I’ve got a Craft Gossip post scheduled for later this morning that links to your tutorial: http://sewing.craftgossip.com/tutorial-super-simple-reusable-snack-bags/2014/03/18/
    –Anne

  5. Catherine Rosebud says:

    I have question. When you have a sandwich does the bread get hard?

    • Ha! Funny question! So I made a sandwich to use in these pictures and left it overnight. There was a little bit that got hard. But when I pack the sandwich for lunch that day, no, they don’t get hard.

  6. I made a bunch years ago. Yours are prettier. I remember worrying about the holes that the needle was punching in the plastic part as I was making them. But mine have held up well. They are not as waterproof anymore (so juicy sandwiches can sometimes dampen the outside of the bag) but we still use them when we need to pack a lunch.

  7. What about using laminated cotton fabrics? Or have you found there is something wrong with that?

    • The laminated cotton is not considered food safe as far as I know. I wanted the ‘dry’ side to be on the inside in case I packed it with rinsed grapes, or something like that. The laminated cotton is laminated on the pretty side of the fabric, so that wouldn’t help me on the inside. I’m also not sure how well laminated cotton holds up to multiple washes. I love laminated cotton, don’t get me wrong! But it was not at all what I needed for this project for multiple reasons!

  8. swoodsonsays says:

    So glad you used food-safe fabric, I hate to see people suggesting ripstop nylon or diaper PUL that isn’t food safe 🙂

  9. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing this pattern, can`t wait to try it.
    I especially love the “Star wars” one, I guess my boys love it too.
    Best regards from Germany,
    Annie

  10. Great idea, especially in our throw-away world! And you can use them for just about anything!

  11. These look gorgeous. I will certainly be giving them a go in the holidays.
    I’ve just found your blog and can’t wait to explore.

  12. This is so cute, I had to make one! Thanks for the tutorial. 🙂

  13. I’ve used the ECO-PUL from Diaper Making Supplies for making diapers. Lots of leftover bits are going to make up some bags! A tip: Wash the bags in hot water before the first use; this seals up any holes made by your needle.

  14. stephanie says:

    This might seem silly, but how do you clean them? Washer? Dishwasher, top rack?

    • The washing machine! Easy! I wash with my normal color load, but then I let air dry. Sometimes I put them back in on low for a little while, but mostly air dry. Not a silly question!

  15. Sorry, this may seem silly but did you use the E-PUL just for the inside or for the the inside and outside?

  16. Are the two pieces of fabric the same? Is the water resistant side facing what the sandwich will sit on? Do you have to use two layers?

    • No, one layer is the Eco-Pul and the other is cotton. The water resistant side faces the sandwich. You probably don’t NEED the two layers, but the PUL on it’s own would be pretty flimsy. I like it better with the two layers! Have fun!

  17. I was just reading an article where the person said PUL fabric is not food safe. Could she be talking about PUL fabric and not the newer eco-PUL fabric? I was just wondering your thoughts because I would really like to make these sandwich bags. I think they’re awesome.

  18. Food against the shinny side or dull side of the PUL. Your instructions are the best I have seen. Thanks

  19. Kristi Poirier says:

    Just made my first four for my 12 year old son. He went with me to an organic fabric store and picked out a vintage car motif for his outer layer. When I made mine I didn’t round the top and I also put the velco strip all the way across. Can’t wait to make some more! Thanks for the wonderful idea and instructions!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Louise from I’m Feelin’ Crafty shows how to make these super simple reusable snack bags.  They’re essentially fabric envelopes with a Velcro closure, made from a layer of PUL fabric on the inside and a fun cotton print on the outside.   Because the inside will be touching food, she used a PUL that is  solvent-free, environmentally friendly, releases no volatile organics, machine washable, and food safe.  (She gives a link to her fabric source.)  Go to I’m Feelin’ Crafty for the tute. […]

  2. […] inspiration by: feelincrafty […]

  3. […] March I did a tutorial on making sandwich/snack bags. We use them all the time and it sounds like yall have enjoyed making them […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.