Long Beach Board Shorts

Or should I call them Orange Beach Board Shorts? Obviously they fit in perfectly on any beach! I’m in love with this Long Beach Board Short pattern from Terra’s Treasures.

LongBeachBoardShorts-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

It was one of the patterns in the Sew Fab Sale and I’m loving it! And so is the kiddo! I wanted them to actually be swim shorts and not just shorts that look like swim shorts, so I started looking for boys swimsuit material. It’s not so easy to find! I did find some at this place called The Fabric Fairy, but it was kinda expensive for my first try at this… Sometimes it’s hard to spend 20 or so on fabric for a swim suit that I can get already made for 8 or 10 at Old Navy, etc… I love handmade more, but sometimes….

LongBeachBoardShorts-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

 

So I started looking at thrift shops. Then I just happened to find a solid pair of blue and a printed pair that matched perfected! On sale for 5 bucks for the two! Then I wanted the contrast and found another pair of adult swim trunks for 1 dollar!! I did use adult swim trunks for the fabric. And if you want to, be sure to find a pair without all the pockets! My blue pair I had to be very careful with how I cute the adult pair to have enough fabric.

LongBeachBoardShorts-FrontCU-ImFeelinCrafty

LongBeachBoardShorts-BackCU-ImFeelinCrafty

The pattern is super easy to put together. It helps if you aren’t chatting with a long time best friend that you haven’t seen in a year though. I did sew together the back part upside down the first time adn I couldn’t figure out what in the world was wrong the pattern! Of course, it wasn’t me!!! Then I realized, HA! it was me! And of course, I had finished the seam allowances and everything before I figured it out….

LongBeachBoardShorts-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

Then I got back on track and I love it. I would totally make short short out of it too. As in not actual swim shorts.

LongBeachBoardShorts-Piping-ImFeelinCrafty

And check out that piping! Sorry, for the booty shot, but it was the best picture of the piping I had. It was my first time doing real piping. I used a nylon cord for quicker drying. This one is for my Aunt! I’ve been talking to her about doing piping for years. She keeps telling me how wonderful it is and how you’ll get hooked. She was right!

LongBeachBoardShorts-Inside-ImFeelinCrafty

And I also added in the swim suit undies. I cut these out of one of my pairs (yes, thoroughly washed, multiple times!) The pattern doesn’t give directions for this piece, but I just sized it based on my sons other bathing suits and then tucked it up under the fold of the wait before I sewed that piece down.

LongBeachBoardShorts-Standing-ImFeelinCrafty

I also reused the ties from the other shorts for the tie on this pair. The directions call for ribbon or bias tape. So I just used the ties ans sewed them on some elastic.

LongBeachBoardShorts-Jump-ImFeelinCrafty

And the kiddo loves them!

 

Comments

  1. Great idea of using thrift shop suits!!! I’ll have to remember that one! They look fantastic!

  2. Great job! They look really cool.

  3. Love the contrast with the blue, the print and piping!

  4. These look great! I’ll have to give this pattern a go for my son 🙂

  5. Welcome to the ‘dark side’ of piping!!! We love it – it is our go to detail!! **And, excellent suggestion about thrifting to find swimwear fabrics…

    • Thanks! I do love it! I can’t wait to use it again soon! We were thrifting again today and I was mysteriously drawn to the men’s swim shorts… I pulled myself away since I really don’t need anymore right now!

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.