Freezer Paper Stencils, a Tutorial

Another easy peasy tutorial!!

I’m sure you’ve seen the freezer paper stencils… They are all over the kiddie crafting and sewing blogs. I’ve been wanting to try my hand at it for AGES!!! But never have. Until now!! It’s so easy. Really! I love it. I want to make more… But here’s my very first attempt (drumroll…..)

Ta-da!

Do you know the Octonauts?? WE LOVE THE OCTONAUTS! They are really cool. The stories all about under water adventures and tech kids about under water animals. And the graphics are very cool. I love them, my kiddo loves them and even Dad saw them and said, ‘They’re cool!’ So the image is the Octonauts logo. An Octopus, which I also love….  Since I love octopi and the kiddo loves Octonauts, I decided to make him one.

Step 1: Gather Materials.

Freezer paper (of course…), which you can purchase at most local grocery stores.

Image

Exacto Knife

Paint Brush (I used a roller, but that’s up to you. I liked the roller….)

Fabric Paint (I used screen printing paint only because that’s the white fabric paint that we had at home, but I’d probably recommend a plain ‘ole fabric paint. The screen print paint is a little thicker than regular fabric paint.)

T-shirt or some item of clothing.

Step 2: Cut out you image. Layout your image on the freezer paper. You want to cut so that the shiny side of the paper is down.

Step 3: Iron the freezer paper onto the t-shirt with the shiny side towards the fabric. The freezer paper will stick to the shirt. I typically have my iron on HOT, and I left it there for this project!

Step 4: Paint! And let it dry. I’m a bit impatient when it comes to things like this, sooooo… I used a hair dryer to help it dry faster!

Step 5: Then just peel away the freezer paper!

Step 6: Set the paint per the paint instructions.

Wah- la!

Has anyone else made these? What image did you use? And if you haven’t made this, what image would you use?

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Oh wow, I LOVE this idea! I don’t read many kiddie crafting blogs so this is my first introduction to the technique. I can’t wait to try it. =) Thanks for posting this.

  2. I haven’t heard of the octonauts and my guys love sea animals so now I’m googling how to order the books! And I’m totally going to try this freezer paper stencil idea. Thank you!

  3. I have seen this around, but was not sure i could figure it out. Your tut is very clear and well written. With your help, i am ready to give it a shot. Thanks so much.

  4. So great. I’ve been wanting to try those for a long time….might just have to! thanks!

  5. Ashley H says:

    Great tutorial! Looking forward to trying it, and we love the octonauts here as well.
    Quick noye, should say ‘voila’ and the end of your post not wah la…. sorry. Grammar police. Lol. :p

  6. From where did you print the image? Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. […] And it worked!  I referred to these tutorials here, here and here. […]

  2. […] I designed the tee in a variety of greys and then stenciled my fox design on the shirt using a freezer paper stencil. I wanted to bring in all the shades of grey. The light sleeves and side accent, the middle tone on […]

  3. […] downloading!). Then cut it onto the freezer paper. Cut out the white triangles. You can follow the Freezer Paper Stencil Tutorial here for how to use the freezer […]

  4. […] the Octonauts hats worn on the show. Then one day, I came across this fantastic tutorial over at “I’m Feeling Crafty” on Freezer Paper Stencils which really put my plan in […]

  5. […] tutorial is a two part-er. First we did a freezer paper stencil and then we made the […]

  6. […] Cut out the pattern in the freezer paper, iron it on and then paint it. For more freezer paper stencils details see this tutorial! […]

  7. […] And it worked!  I referred to these tutorials here, here and here. […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.