Sew Ready to Play Memory!

Welcome to the 2012 Series of Sew Ready to Play! I’m kicking it off with Memory!

Most of the projects for the series are sewing projects ‘inspired by’ a game, not the actual game itself. But…. I’ve always wanted to make a fabric memory game from my son. The other day we were at Target and there was a Dr Seuss Memory card game in the little dollar section right when you walk in. I was torn! You know I LOVE Dr Seuss. It was only a dollar. Do I just buy it and forget my handmade version??? No! I held on to my dreams of making my own game!

I also love the fabric I ended up with. I went around to a couple of shops and didn’t find the perfect material. So I headed to JoAnn’s. My son and I found a great fish fabric that would be perfect. Ok, it would be perfect for a memory game, but the design just wasn’t me. I wasn’t in love with it. So we decided to make one last stop. A new little fabric shop and it had just what I wanted! PERFECT! I love this fabric! It’s called Forest Friends for Northcott. Love it! Did I mention that I love this fabric???

And I love my little game. It’s so simple to make, I can’t believe it took me this long to actually do it. Like I said, it’s simple, but takes a little time! So here we go!

Step 1: Materials. Fabric, the card side and the back side. Scissors, Thread, Rotary Knife, Seam Ripper (or whatever you use to pull corners flat).

Step 2: Cut the squares. Mine are 2.5 inches.

Step 3:  Sew two pieces together, right sides together. Leave a hole, about 3/4″, in one side.

Step 4: Clip the corners.

Shared with these Link Parties!