Our do Good Stitches July Quilt

Yes, the July quilt!

DoGoodJuly-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

And yes, I know it’s November! It’s been done and wasn’t too far behind schedule! It’s just taken me a bit to get it photographed and put up on the blog….

DoGoodJuly-MainFront-ImFeelinCrafty

Remember the ‘Low Volume with Bright Contrast Crosses Postage Stamp Quilt block’ I showed you a while back? Well, this is it done with all the blocks from all of our group members! I asked everyone to use low volume blocks for the back ground and bright colors for 3 to 5 crosses in each block. I love how the bright colors just pop!

doGood-Main-ImFeelinCrafty

Once I got all the blocks, there were all just a tad different sizes. So I got scared. I couldn’t figure out how I was going to put it together. One thought I had was to add fabric pieces between the blocks. But I didn’t like that idea either. So I sat on the pieces for too long. THen one day I pulled them out again and moved the blocks around until they all fit! Yea! It was like a puzzle. They just had to be rotated this way and that and then they fit! I got so frustrated with myself for being scared of it!

DoGoodJuly-Back-ImFeelinCrafty

For the back I switched the color scheme!

DoGoodJuly-BackDtl-ImFeelinCrafty

A bright back ground and a low volume cross!

Quilting done. Binding on. Now to finish the binding. Debating by hand or machine???? #dogoodstitches #nurturecircle

DoGoodJuly-binding-ImFeelinCrafty

Another debate I had was the binding. Low Volume or Bright? Then I found a low volume grey fabric with white stripes and pops of bright! I think it works perfectly!

DoGoodJuly-Front-ImFeelinCrafty

We’ll have a couple more quilts to show before we break for the holidays! Have you been working on anything besides Halloween over the last couple of weeks?

 

Shared with these Link Parties!

Comments

  1. Absolutely beautiful! Love this quilt! As you know, I LOVE Halloween a lot, but I feel bad to say that I am so glad it is over. It is a lot of work, and I need a break right now, but I can’t wait to put up our Christmas tree and enjoy the wonders that Christmas brings! Keep up the great work on your quilts, as I love them all! (wish I was on your Christmas list to get one of them! LOL)

  2. This quilt is so sweet. I love the scrappy feel.

  3. I love this quilt, and what a fun binding for it!

  4. Good job for not giving up on your puzzle. See? It pays to just sit back for a while and give things time. So pretty!

  5. I love the combo of the low volume with the brights! Great choice with the binding. I think the grey really sets the whole quilt off. I’ve been quilting small gifts for family and friends and am wishing I could share them on my blog right now! The new year will start with all my projects!

  6. Debi Hassler says:

    Louise – you did an amazing job! (Especially considering the inconsistency of sizes)

Trackbacks

  1. […] second quilt made with the help of the Nurture Circle quilting bee. This one is about 4×6 […]

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.