A Couple of Wednesday WIPs!

I was realizing the other day that I took the Process Pledge, but lately I’ve only been showing things finished. Some things take longer than others, as you know! And these two projects are taking a while!


The first one is my gator quilt.


At the moment I’m kinda obsessed with looking at origami animals and translating them into my own quilt blocks! It all started with the little fox skirt and pattern I used. But now, I’m making my own!


I wasn’t going to do a gator, but then I got this fabric and I knew I needed to make a gator! And so far I’m really liking it!


I was going to do circles for eyes, but I couldn’t get them perfect so I switched gears. I decided to piece them together like I’ve done for everything else. Ends up that I love them this way. Plus I’m going to making 2 more gators, each one smaller then the other, so I knew that the circles would just get harder!


The second quilting project I’m working on is my Halloween quilt. Working on the finishing up the binding now. I know it’s late for Halloween! Actually, I’m going to say it’s so early for Halloween! And I should be done for next October!


I’ve had this fabric for about as long (if not longer) than I’ve had my kiddo! I love the panel, but have never worked with panels, so wasn’t sure what to do with it. I figured it though.


Yep, it has another animal quilt block in it designed by yours truly! More about this one closer to Halloween! I’m leaving you on the edge of your seat I know!

What are you working on?

Shared with these link parties!


  1. I love how you can draw something like this and turn it into a quilt. Now that is true talent. As for what I am working on… some salt dough Christmas ornaments right now!

  2. The gator and bat blocks are so cool! Can’t wait to see the trio of gators in one fell swoop.🙂

  3. Great to see both of these tonight! And what an awesome job you are doing on your animal blocks!

  4. Your projects are awesome. Love the gator! He’s amazing! I’m really not into paper piecing, but I may have to give it another go because I love that foxy skirt! We love foxes at our house, so I really appreciate you sharing the source for the pattern. I may have a paper pieced foxy {something} in my future.

  5. Sarah Helene says:

    CREATIVE talents — drawing, designing and sewing — on to a quilt! AMBITIOUS sewer INDEED! I love your fabric color choices on both quilts. Gators and bats… what else??? Remember to show us your completely sewn QUILTS! Looks detailed and your craftiness is revealed. BRAVO! Sarah Helene in Minneapolis, MN

Oh, great, you're leaving a comment!! I love reading comments!! Thanks for taking the time to share what's on your mind.

